Hybrid View

    You found a bug! We've classified it as SDKTOOLS-213 . We encourage you to continue the discussion and to find an acceptable workaround while we work on a permanent fix.
  1. #1
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    34
    Vote Rating
    0
    thorben is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Sencha Cmd should support sandboxed packages

    Sencha Cmd should support sandboxed packages


    Is it possible to use Sencha Cmd with a sandboxed build of Ext JS (e.g. ext-all-sandbox-dev.js)? I'm using Sencha Cmd 3.0.0.190.

    I think a config option like jsduck's
    Code:
    --ext-namespaces=Ext,Ext4
    would help us here. I'm mainly interested in a build of our custom classes, so it would be ok to have ext-all-sandbox.js included.

    Is something like this going to be implemented or will I need to migrate my app to Ext JS 4 before using Cmd?
    Thorben
    -----------------------------
    thorben.ziemek.de/blog/
    -----------------------------
    Refined Labs is hiring Ext JS devs and Zend Framework developers. Full-time positions in Munich: http://www.refinedlabs.com/jobs

  2. #2
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team dongryphon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,405
    Vote Rating
    150
    dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    We have discussed sandbox mode and there are a couple or so directions it could go.

    I am curious to know more specifically what you are wanting to achieve. I assume you have a mixture of v3 and v4 classes? Are you wanting to produce a subset of the frameworks? And wrap the v4 subset in a sandbox...
    Don Griffin
    Engineering Manager - Frameworks (Ext JS / Sencha Touch)

    Check the docs. Learn how to (properly) report a framework issue and a Sencha Cmd issue

    "Use the source, Luke!"

  3. #3
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    34
    Vote Rating
    0
    thorben is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Yes, we've got a mixture of Ext 3 and Ext 4 classes. We are continually migrating to Ext 4, so the number of Ext 3 classes will eventually approach 0 .

    What we want to achieve is a custom build of only the Ext 4 part of the app. In the final build, there will be 3 or 4 JS files
    • Ext JS 3 Framework (ext-all.js)
    • All our custom Ext JS 3 classes (this is generated using the current build process)
    • Ext JS 4 Framework + Ext JS 4 custom classes (this should be the output of Sencha Cmd)
    So Cmd wouldn't need to care about the Ext JS 3 classes and their proper inclusion, but only accept "Ext4" as the Ext JS 4 namespace.

    I imagine this might just be a minor tweak to the tool, but maybe sandboxing is more complicated internally?
    Thorben
    -----------------------------
    thorben.ziemek.de/blog/
    -----------------------------
    Refined Labs is hiring Ext JS devs and Zend Framework developers. Full-time positions in Munich: http://www.refinedlabs.com/jobs

  4. #4
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team dongryphon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,405
    Vote Rating
    150
    dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by thorben View Post
    Cmd wouldn't need to care about the Ext JS 3 classes and their proper inclusion, but only accept "Ext4" as the Ext JS 4 namespace.

    I imagine this might just be a minor tweak to the tool, but maybe sandboxing is more complicated internally?
    Yeah that is the harder part - partitioning code that says one thing ("Ext") but needs to be understood as another ("Ext4") so that references from other code using the other name ("Ext4") link up properly. Then we need to wrap the sandbox around the Ext 4 code during the build.

    It is all doable, but won't make in this release (3.0.0). Knowing that there are folks using/needing this support is really helpful though to decide when to pull the trigger on it.

    I'm going to open this as a ticket so we can both track it.

    Thanks for taking the time to explain what you were needing.
    Don Griffin
    Engineering Manager - Frameworks (Ext JS / Sencha Touch)

    Check the docs. Learn how to (properly) report a framework issue and a Sencha Cmd issue

    "Use the source, Luke!"

  5. #5
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team dongryphon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,405
    Vote Rating
    150
    dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold dongryphon is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    I have opened a ticket in our bug tracker.

  6. #6
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    57
    Vote Rating
    16
    superstructor will become famous soon enough

      1  

    Default


    Any update on this issue ? Is it possible with the latest Sencha Cmd 3.1.2.342 release ? This is vital functionality for being able to port a legacy ExtJS 3.x application to ExtJS 4.x and a Sencha Cmd based build.

  7. #7
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    53
    Vote Rating
    0
    medifirst is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Same problem : any update??

  8. #8
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1
    Vote Rating
    0
    Nick A. is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    To get around this I ended up taking the sliced images from a non-sandboxed version of our theme that I generate and incorporate those images as the images for the sandboxed theme. When generating the theme with the sandbox I just use
    Code:
    sencha package build
    from within the theme package and use the built <theme-name>-all.css.

    The main downfall of this is that we can't take advantage of minimizing the js or css sent to the page as we use ext-all-sandbox.js and <theme-name>-all.css.

  9. #9
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    46
    Vote Rating
    4
    adrianmirjan is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    There are still issues with sandboxed mode in Sencha Cmd v4.0.1.45.
    On sencha app refresh bootstrap.js still contains references to
    Code:
    Ext.Loader.addClassPathMappings
    Ext.ClassManager.addNameAlternateMappings
    Ext.ClassManager.addNameAliasMappings
    Ext.setVersion
    Loading the app gives the error
    Code:
    ReferenceError: Ext is not defined
    Ext.Loader.addClassPathMappings({ bootstrap.js (line 7)
    I'll try to mess around with refresh-impl.xml to fix it.
    But I'd like this to be fixed properly.