Success! Looks like we've fixed this one. According to our records the fix was applied for TOUCH-3840 in a recent build.
  1. #11
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    86
    Vote Rating
    1
    busaware1 is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Ouch - looks like I may have the same problem

    http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthre...s-White-Screen

    is there any work-around / resolution to this?

  2. #12
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    86
    Vote Rating
    1
    busaware1 is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Hi,

    I hope this helps someone but by a slow and painful process of elimination it turned out that including this line in my controller caused the WSOD.
    Code:
     requires: [
    // CAUSES BREAK 'Ext.device.Connection'
    ...
    ]
    commenting this line out caused the app to work again from a shortcut on the home screen.

    Does anyone have any ideas why this is so?

    thx

  3. #13
    Touch Premium Member BostonMerlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    523
    Vote Rating
    43
    BostonMerlin is a jewel in the rough BostonMerlin is a jewel in the rough BostonMerlin is a jewel in the rough

      0  

    Default


    Good find, Sencha support has been completely silent on the issue. I don't have that requires to remove. WSOD is still there. This experience is leaving a bad impression.

  4. #14
    Sencha Premium Member tobiu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Munich (Germany)
    Posts
    2,695
    Vote Rating
    114
    tobiu is a name known to all tobiu is a name known to all tobiu is a name known to all tobiu is a name known to all tobiu is a name known to all tobiu is a name known to all

      0  

    Default


    Thanks for the report! I have opened a bug in our bug tracker.

  5. #15
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    17
    Vote Rating
    2
    sdebois is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Same issue

    Same issue


    please fix asap as this prevents us to upgrade to ST 2.1
    Launch from home screen is critical for our app!
    thx

  6. #16
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    38
    Vote Rating
    0
    roboboot is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Same issue

    Same issue


    Same for me

    I cannot find the requires string in app.js, so the workaround doesn't work for me.

    Please solve the problem!

    If someone find another workaround please provide it on this thread.

    Thanks

  7. #17
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    12
    Vote Rating
    0
    cormip is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Also seen in Kitchen Sink example...

    Also seen in Kitchen Sink example...


    Loading: http://cdn.sencha.io/touch/sencha-touch-2.1.0/examples/kitchensink/index.html

    I
    t seems to behave like a race condition is occurring. On refresh, sometimes the page loads, other times I get the WSOD. When it does load, it takes a long time for the page to render (from a white screen) after the browser has indicated it has finished loading the page; ie ~8-15 seconds AFTER the browser has stopped "spinning/loading".

    I was able to duplicate the problem on my own Android phone running ICS as well as on my desktop using the Android SDK emulator.

    Paul

  8. #18
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    38
    Vote Rating
    0
    roboboot is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Any news?

    Any news?


    Any news about this huge bug? Please update us, we have the production chain stopped

  9. #19
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    1
    MikeLowery is on a distinguished road

      1  

    Exclamation PLEASE fix this ASAP!

    PLEASE fix this ASAP!


    This defect is preventing us from installing our first Sencha Touch application at a major steel firm, and from being able to demonstrate to a current client who is a major financial services firm. This is critical to having production web applications running on iPads. This is a a #1 prior issue for us.

  10. #20
    Touch Premium Member BostonMerlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    523
    Vote Rating
    43
    BostonMerlin is a jewel in the rough BostonMerlin is a jewel in the rough BostonMerlin is a jewel in the rough

      2  

    Default


    the quick and dirty fix is to remove all references to Ext.Device from sencha-touch-all.js. All functions are in one place. Remove and save. Make sure your project references the newly modified .js file vs their CDN link.

    I am extremely dissapointed with how Sencha handled (not handled) this problem. It's been over a month and half since I reported this problem... still nothing. They should have released an emergency hotfix to their framework... or at a minium. the CDN code base. Their silence on the issue is troubling. I'm beginning to see a track record here with how they handle support issues .. especially ones that deserve an immediate response effecting users production code.

    Hope that helps
    John