Success! Looks like we've fixed this one. According to our records the fix was applied for EXTGWT-2651 in 3.0.3.
  1. #1
    Ext GWT Premium Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    243
    Vote Rating
    1
    nbuesing is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Grid with ComboBox and one Row can fail to display drop-down.

    Grid with ComboBox and one Row can fail to display drop-down.


    GXT
    GXT 3.0.3-SNAPSHOT : 11/29/2012
    (Also GXT 3.0.3-SNAPSHOT: 11/22/2012)
    I did NOT see this issue with GXT 3.0.2

    GWT
    GWT 2.4.0

    Browser
    Internet Explorer 8
    Windows 7 - 64 bit

    I create a grid with a combo-box in the grid. If the grid has 1 row in it, the combo-box will blur when trying to select the drop-down icon. It doesn't always happen, but does happen rather frequently for me (more so in our actual application, than in this test application, making me wonder if more events going on causing this issue to occur more in other situations).

    I have also seen this in scenarios with more than 1 row, but it does seem much more apparent when there is only 1 row in the grid.

    The grid is given an explicit width and height.

    Again, click on the first cell to get the drop-down to display. Then click on the drop-down arrow (to expose the drop-down). Instead of the drop-down appearing, the combo box disappears. The "onBlur" event does fire, but the grid's onCompleteEdit does not.

    I had reported an issue similar to this with GXT 3.0.0 - 3.0.2 where browser zoom was in place. The issue there was making sure the grid was giving or provided a width and height. In this case, the width and height are provided. In my application code the width and height have been set explicitly as well as determined by the parent component. In both cases, this error occurs.



    Step1.pngStep2.pngGridComboBoxIssue.zip

  2. #2
    Sencha - GXT Dev Team
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,734
    Vote Rating
    90
    Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light

      0  

    Default


    I've been able to reproduce the issue. It seems related to how fast you open the ComboBox - when double clicking, for example, it usually occurs.

    I'm able to consistently reproduce this using the following steps:
    * focus on the combobox by clicking once
    * focus on the text field by clicking once
    * focus on the combo box again, by clicking once
    * click a second time in the combo box - in addition to not opening the combobox dropdown, you'll generally lose focus in the main area of the text field too.

    I can also confirm that I'm unable to reproduce this in 3.0.2, so it is a regression. We'll be working hard to fix this before putting out another release, or we'll be reverting the change that introduced it to ensure that we dont add new behavioral issues in 3.0.3.

    We'll update this thread with any progress to report - I'd also appreciate independent confirmation that I have got the right (and most flexible) set of steps

  3. #3
    Sencha - GXT Dev Team
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,734
    Vote Rating
    90
    Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light

      0  

    Default


    We have a fix for this in SVN and the recent nightly builds. If you get the chance, please confirm, as we hope to perform a release with it soon.

  4. #4
    Ext GWT Premium Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    243
    Vote Rating
    1
    nbuesing is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I have the nightly build for 3.0.3 and it is dated 12/6 22:40. Please confirm that has this fix, and will try this out this afternoon.

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Sencha - GXT Dev Team
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,734
    Vote Rating
    90
    Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light

      0  

    Default


    Yes - according to my records, this was the first nightly build where this fix was available.

  6. #6
    Ext GWT Premium Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    243
    Vote Rating
    1
    nbuesing is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Better, but NOT fixed (according to my testing)

    Better, but NOT fixed (according to my testing)


    Internet Explorer 8
    3.0.3-SNAPSHOT 12/6/2012 10:37
    Both Production and Development modes
    Windows 7, 64 bit

    I am currently testing in our application, not the test case I provided (will try that next).

    According to my testing, this is NOT fixed. However, it is better. It seems like wants it works, it works. But the first first clicks/selections it will fail.

    I then refresh the browser (start over with GWT) and I can get the errors again. However, once the drop-downs work, then they seem to be fine (until the next refresh of the page). This is better than it was before, since it would always occur.

    While the drop-downs are not working they seem to flash at the 0,0 coordinate (similar to another bug I reported).

    I will not bring up my test environment and try to test it from there to verify in a more controled environment, to see if I can reproduct it.

  7. #7
    Ext GWT Premium Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    243
    Vote Rating
    1
    nbuesing is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    So my test case appears to be fixed, but my actual code is not.

    Also, as stated earlier, once it starts working it seems to work: no flashing of the drop-down at 0,0 and the drop down appears.

    It seems if I set browser size to 125% I can get the behavior to start again (w/out having to reload GWT), but once it starts working, it stays working. Then once it works it works (at 100% and 125%).

    In my actual code I have the grid in a content panel and I'm setting the height of the grid/panel explicitly (to avoid scroll bars). I am having the grid's width be sized by the content panel's size.

    I will be updating my test case to include a content panel and see if that is adding anything.

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Ext GWT Premium Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    243
    Vote Rating
    1
    nbuesing is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Update:

    I added a content panel around the grid to my test case, and didn't make a difference.

    I added explicite width/height insuring the content panel is wider and taller than the grid, no luck in my code as well.

    My code populates the drop-down through the combo's focus event. I will be playing around with that to see if I can get my code to work with the current code, and if so then I will try to add the code to my test case to reproduct it.

  9. #9
    Sencha - GXT Dev Team
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,734
    Vote Rating
    90
    Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light

      0  

    Default


    To make sure I understand - it is broken in your app, but cannot yet be reproduced in an example you can provide?

    If this is the case, I understand you also have a support ticket open on this point - perhaps it may be possible to assist our debugging efforts in that ticket further so we are able to reproduce this as well.

    The fix that has been made is based on the fact that this can only be reproduced in IE8 (tested at least IE7 and IE9, as well as Chrome and FF), and doesn't work in nearly identical examples (Cell Grid example). We acknowledge that the bug was introduced by changes made during this bugfix release, but interestingly, the change was completely unrelated - it has to do with an IE-specific grid fix to preventing selecting text with the mouse in the Grid. Has nothing to do with editing, nor ComboBox, and doesn't add any events, only an IE-only attribute to certain html elements.

  10. #10
    Ext GWT Premium Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    243
    Vote Rating
    1
    nbuesing is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by Colin Alworth View Post
    To make sure I understand - it is broken in your app, but cannot yet be reproduced in an example you can provide?
    Yes, my test case now works, but my application still has issues. The issues are different now (once the combo-box starts working it seems to work, whereas before it would continue to not-work from time to time).

    Quote Originally Posted by Colin Alworth View Post
    If this is the case, I understand you also have a support ticket open on this point - perhaps it may be possible to assist our debugging efforts in that ticket further so we are able to reproduce this as well.
    Yes, we can try to add to that ticket there, but how is that different than trying to supply information in the forum for others to see? I'm guessing you want me to use our actual code and see if I can bundle that up so you can see the defect? I'm trying to see how easy that would be, but if I cannot do that and I need to do it generically, I might as well continue to add it here, unless you prefer it in the ticket.

    Quote Originally Posted by Colin Alworth View Post
    The fix that has been made is based on the fact that this can only be reproduced in IE8 (tested at least IE7 and IE9, as well as Chrome and FF), and doesn't work in nearly identical examples (Cell Grid example). We acknowledge that the bug was introduced by changes made during this bugfix release, but interestingly, the change was completely unrelated - it has to do with an IE-specific grid fix to preventing selecting text with the mouse in the Grid. Has nothing to do with editing, nor ComboBox, and doesn't add any events, only an IE-only attribute to certain html elements.
    That is interesting and frustrating. I have spent many hours dealing with this and other defects when I should be doing development for my client. I will continue to try to replicate my issues in a test case or try to take our application code and bundle it in such a way so you can see it. If I do that, it would need to be in the ticket, due to having client specific code in it.

    Thanks again for all of your help on this.

Thread Participants: 1