You found a bug! We've classified it as TOUCH-3915 . We encourage you to continue the discussion and to find an acceptable workaround while we work on a permanent fix.
  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    177
    Vote Rating
    9
    huberte will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default [2.1] Splash screen is white on startup on Android and iOS

    [2.1] Splash screen is white on startup on Android and iOS


    REQUIRED INFORMATION

    Sencha Touch version tested:
    • Sencha Touch 2.1.0
    • Sencha cmd 3.0.0.250
    Browser versions tested against:
    • Chrome
    • Stock android
    • Safari
    Description:
    • Safari, chrome and stock browser are displaying the dots splaschscreen, not when packaged in apk or ipa
    Steps to reproduce the problem:
    • sencha generate app
    • sencha app build package
    • sencha package build android.json (or ios.json)
    The result that was expected:
    • No white screen : white dots on blue screen
    The result that occurs instead:
    • White screen on startup
    Test Case:
    Code:
        {
    "applicationName":"Basic",
    "applicationId":"com.testapp.basic",
    "versionString":"1.0",
    "versionCode":"1.0",
    "iconName":"icon.png",
    "inputPath":"D:/www/build/TestApp/package",
    "outputPath":"D:/Application/app-final/basic/",
    "configuration":"Release",
    "platform":"Android", 
    "certificatePath": "D:/Application/keys/Android/key.keystore",
    "certificatePassword":"hkjhjkhjk", 
    "certificateAlias":"test",
    "sdkPath":"C:/apps/android-sdk",
    "androidAPILevel":"10"
    }

    [Operating System:
    • Mint
    • Android 4.1.2
    • W7 64bits

  2. #2
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    37,330
    Vote Rating
    847
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    Did you check for any errors?
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    177
    Vote Rating
    9
    huberte will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    Errors? They are none... It's the basic application, the one when you start developing on sencha.

    Application is running fine, but this white splash screen is annoying...

    Do you have the splash screen when you build it on iOS or android?

  4. #4
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    177
    Vote Rating
    9
    huberte will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    I think it's definitively a bug unless you get those dots by yoursel instead of this white screen

    No error on build testing, production, package

    here's the end output with sencha -d package build and.json, no error (and the index file in apk launches the dots on chrome when extracted) :

    Code:
    Verifying alignment of ./Application/app-final/basic/\\Basic.apk (4)...
          50 META-INF/MANIFEST.MF (OK - compressed)
         961 META-INF/BASIC.SF (OK - compressed)
        1981 META-INF/BASIC.RSA (OK - compressed)
        3080 assets/resources/css/app.css (OK - compressed)
       83612 assets/resources/icons/Icon.png (OK)
       87292 assets/resources/icons/Icon@2x.png (OK)
       94680 assets/resources/icons/Icon~ipad.png (OK)
       99220 assets/resources/icons/Icon~ipad@2x.png (OK)
      108596 assets/resources/icons/iTunesArtwork.png (OK)
      172104 assets/resources/icons/icon-spot~ipad.png (OK)
      175208 assets/resources/startup/1496x2048.png (OK)
      230840 assets/resources/startup/1536x2008.png (OK)
      284772 assets/resources/startup/320x460.jpg (OK)
      291908 assets/resources/startup/640x920.png (OK)
      318120 assets/resources/startup/748x1024.png (OK)
      341468 assets/resources/startup/768x1004.png (OK)
      364587 assets/app.js (OK - compressed)
      490165 assets/app.json (OK - compressed)
      490356 assets/icon.png (OK)
      797525 assets/index.html (OK - compressed)
      798671 res/layout/main.xml (OK - compressed)
      799024 AndroidManifest.xml (OK - compressed)
      799768 resources.arsc (OK)
      800896 res/drawable-hdpi/icon.png (OK)
     1117044 res/drawable-ldpi/icon.png (OK)
     1433192 res/drawable-mdpi/icon.png (OK)
     1749324 classes.dex (OK - compressed)
    Verification succesful
    ""C:/apps/android-sdk\tools\android" create project --target android-10 --name Basic --activity STActivity --path "./Application/app-final/basic/\/" --package com.testapp.basic"
    [DBG]           exit code was : 0
    [DBG]           exit code was : 0
    Edit : removing ST stuff in my index.html file (the one in package before building the apk) does the trick. Dots are here again (very short white screen then the white dots)

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    177
    Vote Rating
    9
    huberte will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    Mitch ?

    Anyone ?

    It's the last piece of my app, and this white screen makes the all thing unfinished !

  6. #6
    Touch Premium Member BostonMerlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    522
    Vote Rating
    41
    BostonMerlin has a spectacular aura about BostonMerlin has a spectacular aura about BostonMerlin has a spectacular aura about

      0  

    Default


    Check if this is your problem

    White Screen of Death

  7. #7
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    177
    Vote Rating
    9
    huberte will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    Noipe, read my post again, it's the splash screen only, not the app !

  8. #8
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    177
    Vote Rating
    9
    huberte will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    Really no one ?

    Are all sencha users building such apps ? No splash ? Just a long white screen ?

  9. #9
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berne, Switzerland
    Posts
    714
    Vote Rating
    42
    ingo.hefti has a spectacular aura about ingo.hefti has a spectacular aura about ingo.hefti has a spectacular aura about

      0  

    Default


    I can't tell for iOS. But for Android I noticed that behavior with my apps as well. I think it's a caching 'problem'. While developing / testing we do a lot of installs of the same app and it seemed to me that the cache comes somehow 'out of sync (it's probably something else, but that's what I call it). So removing the cache of the app (in the device settings) normally helps to get the launcher screen back. Or you remove the whole app from the device and re-install it.

  10. #10
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    177
    Vote Rating
    9
    huberte will become famous soon enough

      1  

    Default


    I tried that, nothing.

    Could you reproduce that with the beginner app (sencha create) and then pack with the latest cmd ?

    I'm at 99% sure it's a bug, but no one is answering,

    It's a pretty big one, I think, beause you don't want your customer having a 30 s white screen, at least not me...

    I do not understand the answer of mitch either, it's like he posted to say : "Ok, I posted, done !",

    It would have been pretty easy to reproduce this bug in a second....