Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    sl5337 is on a distinguished road

Default Sencha Architect 2.x - First Experience

Sencha Architect 2.x - First Experience

As the technical lead of our development group I am faced with making a purchase decision not only for Sencha Architect 2.x but for the Fast Track Sencha Touch 2 Advanced Training class. I have been using Ext JS for several years now and it has become the standard client-side technology for our internal business applications. Though I am very comfortable "hand-coding" the applications I decided to download a trial version of Architect to see if it could speed up our development cycle. After familiarizing myself with Architect I began using it to rebuild an existing application that was crafted by hand. I would imagine that many developers have gone down this same route in order to learn the tool. Though I found the code-generating capabilities of the tool to be very powerful I ran across some limitations which give me cause for concern:
    • I cannot extend my classes. For example, I have a BaseController class which encapsulates commonly used functionality that can be shared by all controllers in the application. I don't see a way to implement this in Architect. Copying the same functionality into all of my controllers is just not an option.

• I cannot create utility classes within Architect. For example, I have several utility classes with static methods that perform commonly used functionality such as date calculations, math calculations, various application-specific algorithms that are used by several of the application components. I believe the accepted workaround for this is to keep the files outside of Architect and add them to the project using a "requires" array in the application component.

• I cannot insert comments into my source code files.