1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Vote Rating
    0
    bbrace is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Unanswered: el.dom is null in 4.1.3 Render code

    Unanswered: el.dom is null in 4.1.3 Render code


    Hi,

    I am upgrading from 4.0 to 4.1.3. I have several form labels defined and am now getting the error

    'el.dom is null or not an object' in the ExtJS finishRender function

    finishRender: function(containerIdx) {
    .....
    if (!me.container) {
    me.container = Ext.get(me.el.dom.parentNode);
    }

    Here is partial panel definition, 'me' is referring to 'searchlabel'


    Ext.define(
    'Docs.view.CenterPanel', {
    extend:
    'Ext.panel.Panel',
    id:
    'CenterPanel',
    region:
    'center',
    margins:
    '0 0 0 0',
    layout:
    'fit',
    tbar: [{
    id:
    'searchLabel',
    xtype:
    'label',
    text:
    'Search: ',
    hidden:
    true,
    style:
    'font: normal 11px Arial'

    },
    FYI - this worked fine in 4.0 and even works fine in extjs-4.1.0-rc3

  2. #2
    Sencha User Arg0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    122
    Answers
    12
    Vote Rating
    16
    Arg0n will become famous soon enough Arg0n will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    I had the same problem twice.
    1. I misspelled a name of a store class
    2. It was anything messed up with ids
    I dont think your panel is the problem...
    The error means (I guess) that a component couldn't be rendered and extjs tries to do something with its dom... baaam.

    Try some debugging :x

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Vote Rating
    0
    bbrace is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default thanks for reply

    thanks for reply


    thanks for your reply. This code has worked fine for over a year in in 4.0. Using 4.1.rc3 it works too but when I use 4.1.3 I get the error on the first item in the toolbar. I read in the Upgrade guide that Toolbar is now a first class component- whatever that means. I think that maybe the way to add toolbars to a panel has changed in 4.3.1 but I see examples where they are still using tbar property of a Panel.

  4. #4
    Sencha User Arg0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    122
    Answers
    12
    Vote Rating
    16
    Arg0n will become famous soon enough Arg0n will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    You could try it with dockeditems.

    Code:
     dockedItems: [{
            xtype: 'toolbar',
            alias: 'widget.news-toolbar',
            dock: 'top',
            items: [
                {
                    xtype: 'button',
                    itemId: 'button-news-category-add',
                    text: 'Neue Rubrik',
                    disabled: true,
                    iconCls: 'icon-add',
                    action: 'news-category-add',
                    acl: {
                        rights: [
                            'flag_content_news_admin'
                        ]
                    }
    
    
                }, {
                    xtype: 'tbseparator'
                },{
                    xtype: 'button',
                    itemId: 'button-news-add',
                    text: 'Neue News',
                    disabled: true,
                    iconCls: 'icon-add',
                    action: 'news-add',
                    acl: {
                        rights: [
                            'flag_content_news_content',
                            'flag_content_news_admin'
                        ]
                    }
                }
            ]
        }],

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Vote Rating
    0
    bbrace is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    This works great in 4.0 and 4.1.rc3 but fails for me when using 4.1.3. It only lets me add xtype: label or xtype: tbtext to dockedItems, all other xtypes like button, textfield, etc give the el.dom is null error in finishRender function.

    Seems like something must be failing in ExtJS internally when creating interactive elements on toolbar?

  6. #6
    Sencha User Arg0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    122
    Answers
    12
    Vote Rating
    16
    Arg0n will become famous soon enough Arg0n will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    I'm using ExtJs 4.1.1a... so I can't reproduce this error =/

  7. #7
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    88
    Vote Rating
    0
    okwei is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I got the same problem. I had to add the items in afterrender call to work around this.

    It only happen in IE (7,8) so far. IE 9 and 10 not tested.

Thread Participants: 2

Tags for this Thread