Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    Will de la Vega is on a distinguished road

Default Unanswered: Beginner Question regarding loading Views with MVC ExtJS 4

Unanswered: Beginner Question regarding loading Views with MVC ExtJS 4

Hi friends @ the forum.

I am building my first Ext JS 4 App with MVC and trying to follow patterns carefully. I have been a RIA developer for many years and I am new to this framework.

My issue is the navigation between views. I have the usual layout, a ViewPort, inside a border layout, then a TreePanel at the west region and a panel with a toolbar at the top and a panel with the content that is supposed to change depending on which view loads and unloads.

Captura de pantalla 2013-02-14 a la(s) 00.24.38.jpg

I was considering adding and removing tabs from a tab panel for the views but I don´t really want to show the user the tabs and also think that for performance purposes it could be better to destroy the views when not used.

Also the approach a friend shared (very ExtJS 3 I think..) with me was to have this layout in as many web pages as views in my app and add a url to a different page i the node click of the treeview panels, thus changing the web page between views. It really doesn´t feel just right albeit that this friend of mine knows what he is saying, but I believe that a good RIA app should run inside a single page.

So, I know that for a newbie it may be a very silly question, but friends, How can I load a view to my content panel depending on the treeview panel (left panel) click and unload or destroy the one being abandoned by the user? is this the right approach?