Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    adri535 is on a distinguished road

Default 4.0.7 to 4.2.0 upgrade

4.0.7 to 4.2.0 upgrade

Hi,

I need to upgrade an Extjs 4.0.7 to a 4.2.0 application,
    unfortunately i cannot find any documentation on how to achieve this.
    Can someone give me some straightforward guidelines to do this?
    (Started developing with extjs some weeks ago, so I'm fairly new to the whole Sencha -exjts framework, community, ..)

thx!

Sencha - Support Team scottmartin's Avatar
    Vote Rating
    scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future

This would be difficult to determine as it depends on your code and how it is implemented.

There are no guidelines available for 4.0 -> 4.2 upgrades that I am aware of.

I would recommend using ext-dev.js (or ext-all-dev.js) and have a look at the console to see what errors/warnings are present. These need to be cleared before anything else.

One of the biggest problems that users face in moving away from 4.0.x is bad layout issues.

The first comment is that .. my layout does not work! It's broken.. the truth is that 4.0 allowed a lot of crappy/incorrect layouts and they are not allowed in 4.1/4.2 versions.

Youe move could be easy, or take some investigation, but well worth the effort.

Scott.

Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    andersoninfidelitysencha can only hope to improve

unfortunately, I also doing the upgrade from 4.0.7 to 4.2.1
    the page layout turns such a mass.
    why the new version can't compatile with the old version?
    And they don't provide some guidelines for upgrading, what a sigh.

Sencha - Support Team scottmartin's Avatar
    Vote Rating