1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    7
    Vote Rating
    0
    jackie.ms is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Native packaging for external project?

    Native packaging for external project?


    Hi folks,

    I've got a project at hand that developed since the Sencha Touch 1.x days. Right now it is running on 2.0.1. Back when it was started it was not created with any Sencha Tool (Architect, SDK Tools) so there are no project-related files as there are now with Cmd. I was wondering if it is possible to convert it to a Cmd project. Or would it be easier to just use Phonegap or similar instead. Have you had any similar case?
    I already tried with Sencha SDK Tools but could not create an .apk file for example, although there were no errors.

    Would be nice to hear your thoughts on this one. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    37,545
    Vote Rating
    873
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    Because Cmd is what will be used for future of Sencha Touch I would bite the bullet, get it migrated into a Cmd app and go from there.
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    7
    Vote Rating
    0
    jackie.ms is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Thanks for your reply Mitchell, that is what I thought as well. I already tried to copy the data into a blank project and changed the paths of some files, however at some point I ran into an error I could not solve. Is there a starting point, sort of like a best practise, to migrate that project properly?

  4. #4
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    7
    Vote Rating
    0
    jackie.ms is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Is there no one who knows how to get this started?

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    7
    Vote Rating
    0
    jackie.ms is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    So I guess there is no way of migrating an app that was initially developed without Sencha SDKTools/Sencha CMD...

  6. #6
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berne, Switzerland
    Posts
    714
    Vote Rating
    42
    ingo.hefti has a spectacular aura about ingo.hefti has a spectacular aura about ingo.hefti has a spectacular aura about

      0  

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by jackie.ms View Post
    Is there no one who knows how to get this started?
    you are aware that this is quite a difficult question without knowing your project / code?

    I started with ST2.0 about a year ago (with SDKTools...). Now all my projects are on ST2.2 and are packed with CMD. As I don't trust its upgrade capabilities any longer, I upgrade all my projects manually:
    • rename the project (f.e. from "myproject" to "myproject-save")
    • generate a new project (with the name "myproject")
    • replace the app folder with the one from "myproject-save"
    • copy the ux folder (if available)
    • copy the resources
    • adapt the app.js, app.json, index.html, packager.json, resources/sass/app.scss with the parts from "myproject-save"
    And that's about it.

  7. #7
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    7
    Vote Rating
    0
    jackie.ms is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Ah thanks, I almost forgot about this post. I'll give it a try soon.

    I know it is not easy to provide a distinct solution for every project. That is why I aimed for a more general explanation to start with and maybe help others, too.

    jackie

  8. #8
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    7
    Vote Rating
    0
    jackie.ms is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    OK, I did as you recommended but ran into this error:

    Code:
    [ERR] BUILD FAILED[ERR] com.sencha.exceptions.BasicException: The following error occurred while executing this line:
    [ERR] C:\****\app2\.sencha\app\build-impl.xml:249:
    com.sencha.exceptions.ExScript: Wrapped com.sencha.exceptions.ExArg: 
    Cannot get canonical path for " C:\****\app2\lib" (x-app-build#290)
       runAppBuild (x-app-build:290)   
       [anonymous] (x-app-build:562)   
       x_app_build (x-app-build:560)  
       <script> (anonymous:1)
    [ERR]   at com.sencha.tools.compiler.sources.ClassPathScope.
    [ERR] addPaths(ClassPathScope.java:68)
    [ERR]
    [ERR] Total time: 54 seconds
    [ERR] com.sencha.exceptions.BasicException: The following error occurred while executing this line:
    C:\****\app2\.sencha\app\build-impl.xml:249: 
    com.sencha.exceptions.ExScript: Wrapped com.sencha.exceptions.ExArg: 
    Cannot get canonical path for " C:\****\app2\lib" (x-app-build#290)
       runAppBuild (x-app-build:290)
       [anonymous] (x-app-build:562)
       x_app_build (x-app-build:560)
       <script> (anonymous:1)
    I have a lib folder inside the main app folder with additional resources needed for the project. This folder also holds the Sencha touch libraries in a folder called touch2.0. I added the lib folder to the classpath inside the .sencha/app/sencha.cfg file, since I read it is needed. I resolved some other issue with that but ran into the pre mentioned.
    Any clue what I need to adapt?

    Best regards
    jackie

  9. #9
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    7
    Vote Rating
    0
    jackie.ms is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    anyone?

Thread Participants: 2