1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    7
    Vote Rating
    0
    raghavendratoranalu is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default architect build errors ruby

    architect build errors ruby


    Hi,

    I am trying to build the app in architect and i get this error inspite of installing the ruby.

    Did not find either a system installed ruby runtime
    Pleast install ruby for this platform and ensure that
    the 'ruby' command is available on the system path




    [ERR]
    [ERR] BUILD FAILED
    [ERR] com.sencha.exceptions.ExNotFound: Failed to detect ruby
    [ERR]
    [ERR] Total time: 2 seconds
    [ERR]
    [ERR] BUILD FAILED
    [ERR] com.sencha.exceptions.BasicException: The following error occurred while e
    xecuting this line:
    [ERR] C:\Raghu\My Sencha Projects\citybars\.sencha\app\build-impl.xml:223: com.s
    encha.exceptions.ExNotFound: Failed to detect ruby
    [ERR]
    [ERR] Total time: 3 seconds
    [ERR] com.sencha.exceptions.BasicException: The following error occurred while e
    xecuting this line:
    C:\Raghu\My Sencha Projects\citybars\.sencha\app\build-impl.xml:223: com.sencha.
    exceptions.ExNotFound: Failed to detect ruby

    Thanks
    Raghu

  2. #2
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,207
    Vote Rating
    120
    aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    Is ruby in your system path?

    If you go to the Cmd line and type in ruby what happens?
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    7
    Vote Rating
    0
    raghavendratoranalu is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    This is what i see in the command prompt.

    C:\>ruby
    'ruby' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    I have the ruby installed on c:\ruby193\ and the following environment variables are set

    varible Name: Path
    variable value: C:\Ruby193\bin

    Is there anything else i need to configure ?

  4. #4
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,207
    Vote Rating
    120
    aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    Is there an app in C:\Ruby193\bin called ruby?

    This tutorial has a step by step guide to setting the PATH variable in windows.
    http://cs.calvin.edu/curriculum/cs/1...gEclipse/path/
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    7
    Vote Rating
    0
    raghavendratoranalu is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Hi,

    I see the Ruby.exe under the folder C:\Ruby193\bin and also the environment varible Path is set to C:\Ruby193\bin

    Is there anything else i can try to get this resolved ? Have already spent lot of time figuring how to to fix this.

    Thanks
    Raghu

  6. #6
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,207
    Vote Rating
    120
    aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    Have you logged out/in? Rebooted?
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  7. #7
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    Vote Rating
    0
    jingbang is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Ruby ERR

    Ruby ERR


    Im now having this same issue

  8. #8
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    36
    Vote Rating
    0
    BKrones is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Hello aconran,
    i got the same issue as above building the project.
    Installed locations:
    Sencha Architect (3.0): C:\Sencha\Architect
    Sencha Cmd (4.0): C:\Users\<Username>\bin\Sencha\Cmd\4.0.0.126
    Sencha Touch (2.3): C:\Users\<Username>\bin\Sencha\touch-2.3.0
    Ruby (1.9.3): C:\Ruby193

    Set Path:

    Environment Path:
    Ruby: C:\Ruby193\bin

    Architect Setup:
    Install plug-ins: C:/Users/<Username>/bin/Sencha/Cmd/4.0.0.126
    Setup project with Cmd: C:/Users/<Username>/bin/Sencha/touch-2.3.0
    Package settings (automatically generated by pressing configure): packager

    So, if i am pressing build i will get same error as above:
    Code:
    [ERR]
    
    Did not find a system installed ruby runtime
    Please install ruby for this platform and ensure that
    a ruby command compatible with 1.8 or 1.9 is available
    on the system path.
    
    
    [ERR]
    [ERR] BUILD FAILED
    [ERR] com.sencha.exceptions.ExNotFound: Failed to detect ruby
    [ERR]
    [ERR] Total time: 1 second
    [ERR] The following error occurred while executing this line:
    S:\Azubis\<Username>\Projekte\Sencha\GeoTracking\.sencha\app\build-impl.xml:232: The following error occurred while executing this line:
    S:\Azubis\<Username>\Projekte\Sencha\GeoTracking\.sencha\app\build-impl.xml:226: com.sencha.exceptions.ExNotFound: Failed to detect ruby
    Using Cmd:
    Code:
    C:\>ruby
    doesn't work. => cmd is just doing nothing. No error, no next line to enter new text. ( I also opened a new cmd. )

    I guess any path settings are wrong?
    Didn't find a solution so far.

    Edit:
    The path should be fine:
    I created a ruby script and called it in the cmd, which worked correctly.
    Code:
    C:\Users\<Username>\Desktop>ruby test.rbWhat is your name? <MyName>
    
    Hello <MyName>!
    Edit2:
    If i click on debug-checkbox before clicking on build in Sencha Architect.
    I got a line which tells me that Sencha Architect is looking in a different directory.
    As you can see above, ruby is installed to C:\Ruby193.

    Code:
    [DBG] setting GEM_HOME to C:\Users\<Username>\bin\Sencha\Cmd\4.0.0.126\extensions\sencha-compass\gems
    Thanks alot

  9. #9
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2
    Vote Rating
    0
    hurdad is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I am having this same issue in ubuntu. ruby is located in my $PATH

    user@localhost:~/app$ ruby -v
    ruby 1.8.7 (2010-01-10 patchlevel 249) [i486-linux]

    Please help

    -alex

  10. #10
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1
    Vote Rating
    0
    benkenobi is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Exactly the same Problem as BKrones.
    How did you solve it?

    Installed locations:
    Sencha Architect (2.2.3):
    C:\Program Files\SenchaArchitect
    Sencha Cmd (4.0): C:\Users\<Username>\bin\Sencha\Cmd\4.0.0.203
    Sencha Touch (2.3.0): C:\Users\<Username>\bin\Sencha\touch-2.3.0
    Ruby (1.9.3): C:\Ruby193

    Environment Path:

    Ruby: C:\Ruby193\bin

    Path: C:\Ruby193\bin

    Architect Setup:
    Install plug-ins: C:/Users/<Username>/bin/Sencha/Cmd/4.0.0.203
    Setup project with Cmd: C:/Users/<Username>/bin/Sencha/touch-2.3.0
    Package settings (automatically generated by pressing configure): packager


    Build/Simulate result in
    Code:
    [INF] sass:
    [INF]
    [INF] -before-sass:
    [INF]
    [INF] -compass-compile-theme-package:
    [INF]
    [INF] -compass-compile-theme-folders:
    [INF]
    [INF] -compass-compile-sass-dir:
    [DBG] setting GEM_HOME to C:\Users\<Username>\bin\Sencha\Cmd\4.0.0.203\extensions\sencha-compass\gems
    [ERR]
    
    Did not find a system installed ruby runtime
    Please install ruby for this platform and ensure that
    a ruby command compatible with 1.8 or 1.9 is available
    on the system path.
    
    [ERR]
    [ERR] BUILD FAILED
    [ERR] com.sencha.exceptions.ExNotFound: Failed to detect ruby