Sencha Premium Member
    Vote Rating
    DavidThi808 will become famous soon enough

Default How do these other libraries fit in to the stack?

How do these other libraries fit in to the stack?

Hi all;

I'm totally new to JavaScript.

We are creating a web version of our report designer so a system with a main page that is the template (think word processor), lots of controls for setting properties on tags in the template, and some DB displays to show data returned.

I'm 95% certain we'll use Ext JS for the MVC framework and the controls (still waiting for a response from Sencha's OEM people). But I'm not sure if there are other JS libraries we also need to complete the stack. Or does Ext JS handle everything.

The ones I keep seeing mentioned are JQuery, Node, backbone, Meteor, Ember, & underscore. Are these libraries I should use also, and if so when? Or are they duplicates of what Ext JS provides?

thanks - dave

Vote Rating
    existdissolve is just really nice existdissolve is just really nice existdissolve is just really nice existdissolve is just really nice existdissolve is just really nice

Quote Originally Posted by DavidThi808 View Post
    Hi all;

I'm totally new to JavaScript.

We are creating a web version of our report designer so a system with a main page that is the template (think word processor), lots of controls for setting properties on tags in the template, and some DB displays to show data returned.

I'm 95% certain we'll use Ext JS for the MVC framework and the controls (still waiting for a response from Sencha's OEM people). But I'm not sure if there are other JS libraries we also need to complete the stack. Or does Ext JS handle everything.

The ones I keep seeing mentioned are JQuery, Node, backbone, Meteor, Ember, & underscore. Are these libraries I should use also, and if so when? Or are they duplicates of what Ext JS provides?

thanks - dave