Sencha Premium Member
    Vote Rating
    blomasky is a glorious beacon of light blomasky is a glorious beacon of light blomasky is a glorious beacon of light blomasky is a glorious beacon of light blomasky is a glorious beacon of light

Default Sencha in perspective of a Clint Eastwood Movie

Sencha in perspective of a Clint Eastwood Movie

OK, I admit it! I loved the Clint Eastwood “spaghetti westerns” (not telling you how old I am, but I saw them when they were originally released.) One of my favorites is “The Good, The Bad and the Ugly”. I am fairly new to the Sencha universe (going like gangbusters for 2-3 months) Let me give you my analysis of this using this movie as a model:

EXT JS:
    · The Good: As everyone knows, bigger is better! (ok, maybe not bigger, but we can agree that richer is better. This library is the richest, most feature packed, (ok, and bigger) than any other Javascript library. Yes, you can get similar functionality by using Angular, JQuery, someone elses grid control, someone else MVC framework, etc. etc. Of course, when one of those libraries has changed, good luck when your application breaks and you have to track down the guilty party. Here all the finger pointing is easy, if it breaks, then Sencha broke it!

· The Bad: It is obvious that Sencha’s core compentency is their technical prowess (It is obvious that they get a F- in sales, since trying to talk to someone prior to the purchase was like pulling teeth. I still have not heard back from anyone re: the training classes after many emails and phone calls. But I am getting off topic). The downside of having such a large and rich library, is that the use is not intuitive. Thank God for all of the 3rd party books, However, a detailed overview of the features / uses / positioning of the library would help.

· The Ugly: No Ugly, actually I am very impressed with the product

Grid Control: