Hybrid View

    Thank you for reporting this bug. We will make it our priority to review this report.
  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    99
    Vote Rating
    10
    tt88 will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default Sencha 2.3 / Sencha cmd-4 native package for Android hangs

    Sencha 2.3 / Sencha cmd-4 native package for Android hangs


    Hi

    Just upgraded to Sencha 2.3 & find my app no longer runs when packaged for Android. It hangs on the splash (3 dots) screen.

    To check if this wasn't due to something in my code I created a new Sencha app. Here are the steps to reproduce the error (using the latest sencha-touch 2.3 & sencha-cmd 4):
    1. Generate new app:
    > sencha -sdk [new-sdk-path] generate app Tester ./tester
    2. Modify the following properties of the packager.json file
    > certificatePath: './test-cerfiicate.keystore'
    > sdkPath: 'my android sdk path'
    > androidAPILevel: 16
    (these settings have always worked for previous packaging of the app)
    3. Generate an an Android install / apk file:
    sencha app package build packager.json

    An apk is generated (with no output errors)
    After installing the apk on my device, I see the blue demo app startup screen (3 dots) and stays that way.

    Running the app + generating a packaged build (sencha app build package) runs perfectly fine in the browser

    ---
    tt88

  2. #2
    Sencha - Support Team
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3,967
    Vote Rating
    133
    fmoseley is a name known to all fmoseley is a name known to all fmoseley is a name known to all fmoseley is a name known to all fmoseley is a name known to all fmoseley is a name known to all

      1  

    Default


    sencha app build native is the command you should use to create your .apk
    Get more personalized support via a support subscription.

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out
    Sencha training
    Sencha Touch in Action

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

    Need to include a test case use:
    The official Sencha Fiddle

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    99
    Vote Rating
    10
    tt88 will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    Thanks, that did the trick - all packages work now

  4. #4
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    32
    Vote Rating
    0
    Stiijnn is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I'm having the same issue (build native does load my application and build from package makes my app freeze at the web view), but why is this?

    Aren't we supposed to use the build from package to finally release the app or does it make no difference?

  5. #5
    Sencha - Support Team
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3,967
    Vote Rating
    133
    fmoseley is a name known to all fmoseley is a name known to all fmoseley is a name known to all fmoseley is a name known to all fmoseley is a name known to all fmoseley is a name known to all

      1  

    Default


    How are you packaging your app Sencha native packager, or phonegap/cordova?
    What command did you run to package your app?
    Get more personalized support via a support subscription.

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out
    Sencha training
    Sencha Touch in Action

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

    Need to include a test case use:
    The official Sencha Fiddle

  6. #6
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    32
    Vote Rating
    0
    Stiijnn is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I'm using Sencha Cmd to package the application.

    Everything is working fine when testing my application in the browser or buidling my application via
    sencha app build native
    and testing it on my device.

    However when I use the command
    sencha app package build packager.json
    to build my application and test it on my device the application is unable to go from the web view to the application itself...
    No errors are shown anywhere as, like I said, it is working fine in the browser or via the build native.

    I'm wondering why this is?

    Aren't we supposed to use the build from package to finally release the app or does it make no difference?