Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    bach_thesis is on a distinguished road

Default Answered: General Questions to Sencha Store Usage?!

Answered: General Questions to Sencha Store Usage?!

Hi@all!

Right now I am starting with Sencha Touch Application Development and I am new to MVC development. My app on the mobile device should connect to a control unit (PLC) via wireless lan and collect data to establish a timeline of the fetched data. Therefore a database is needed to store the data in chronological order. I naturally came across the Store element advised by Sencha. Now my questions:

1) Is something like that possible with the usage of Stores? Any general advises or tips?

2) Are there any limitations regarding maximum size of a store? Or is it just limited by the free space on the hardware? Because the amount of different data is relatively high in my case!

3) Are these Stores saved inside the app? Or is it possible to gain access to them from other Sencha Applications? Or to offer interfaces to other programmers to interact with the stores?

Or is it better to use a traditional SQL based database? Are they accessible through Sencha?

I know these are many questions at once, but i wasn't able to find the answers by myself inside the documentation.

Thanks in Advance!

2. 1. Yes you can store sorted data in stores.
    2. Limited by the memory of the device
    3. No stores are not saved inside your app. Only if you are saving them to local storage which has its own limitations.
    http://diveintohtml5.info/storage.html

With that said you are probably better off using a traditional sql database and using a server side script to interact with the database and return the data to Touch as JSON

Another alternative is to package your app with cordova/phonegap and use its sqllite plugin.
    https://github.com/pgsqlite/PG-SQLitePlugin-Android

Sencha - Support Team
    Answers
    Vote Rating