Sencha Premium Member Troy Wolf's Avatar
    Vote Rating
    Troy Wolf is on a distinguished road

Thumbs up Difficult things easy and easy things difficult

Difficult things easy and easy things difficult

After several months of working with Ext, there is no turning back. It is a wonderful foundation to build very powerful, intuitive, consistent web interfaces for data-driven applications.

It was not very long ago, that I struggled at every turn just to implement the "simplest" Ext component, and I've been developing Internet applications for about 8 years. I'm not new to this stuff. The good news is I'm definitely getting the hang of it, and now as I need to use additional Ext components for the first time, I find the learning curve is much smaller.

I still struggle many times with doing what should be really, really simple. "I just want to move this label over here." "This button should fall on the same line with this textbox." What I'd tell all of you who are just starting your Ext journey--especially if you have normal HTML/CSS/javascript skills--is this:

Ext makes difficult things easy and easy things difficult!

There are things that Ext can do for you that on your own you may never be able to get working if you had 6 months dedicated to it. Ext can do things for you that you probably thought were not even possible in the browser. However, it is not what many of you would consider normal web development. It is a major paradigm shift to how you build your Internet applications--both in the UI and the server-side. In the process, some things that you can do right now without even thinking about, will become stumbling blocks to your progress when you go Ext.

Let me be clear--Ext is amazing, and I highly recommend it. But lets not kid ourselves--Ext does not make all things easier. I hope that as I learn even more about Ext, I'll eat these words!

Sencha - Community Support Team jay@moduscreate.com's Avatar
    Vote Rating