Ext User
    Vote Rating
    seanodonnell is on a distinguished road

Default Firing Custom Events

Firing Custom Events

Hi There,

Im pretty new to ext, so apologies if this seems like a dumb quesiton, but no amount of doc crawling and googling has solved this one for me. Im trying to fire custom events on elements, and I will not necessarily know what element I need to fire it on until runtime.

I've found the docs for Observable.fireEvent, but unfortunately, the Element class returned by Ext.get does not appear to extend Observable. Is there another mechanism out there for doing this that I have missed?

Thanks

Sean

Vote Rating
    evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute

When you say events, I'll assume you mean browser events (click, mouseover, etc).

You can do this, in 2 ways:

Code:
    //operate on a single element
    Ext.get('id').on('click', function(e)
    {
       //do stuff
    }
    );

//operate on a group of elements
    Ext.select('div.foo').on('click, function(e)
    {
       //bar
    }
    );

Ext User
    Vote Rating

Im afraid not on both counts

First of all im looking to fire/create the events, not listen for them and perform an action, which it looks like your code is doing.

Second of all i would ideally like to fire any arbitary event, be it a browser event, or a custom event of my own making.

to give you an idea, in jquery I can do it with

$(target).trigger(event_name, [data]);

in mochikit

signal(target, event_name, data);

in mootools, its a little more complicated (this example is for ff/opera, i.e. is a little different)