1. #1
    Ext User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    0
    benkooijman is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default What's x-layout-inactive-content? (newbie question)

    What's x-layout-inactive-content? (newbie question)


    Hi,

    I'm just starting with Ext (1.0 alpha version) and looking at the examples, I see
    Code:
    class="x-layout-inactive-content"
    being used in the div tags.

    Can anyone tell me what effect using this class is supposed to have and what other classes there are and what effect they have?

    (basically, I'm just looking for guidance on when to use what).

    Thanks,

    Ben.

  2. #2
    Sencha - Community Support Team JeffHowden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Forest Grove, OR
    Posts
    1,038
    Vote Rating
    1
    JeffHowden is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Can be easily answered by looking at ext-all.css:

    Code:
    .x-layout-inactive-content{
        position:absolute;
        left:-10000px;
        top:-10000px;
        visibility:hidden;
    }
    Basically what that does is places the elements completely offscreen so they're not visible to the user.

  3. #3
    Ext User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    0
    benkooijman is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Thanks for the really quick answer Jeff.

    Forgive me, but now I'm really confused. Every single div tag in the "complex.html" example has this class, except for the parent "container" div.

    Doesn't this mean then that all the panels etc. would be invisble? Yet, it works. I must be missing something here...

  4. #4
    Sencha - Community Support Team JeffHowden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Forest Grove, OR
    Posts
    1,038
    Vote Rating
    1
    JeffHowden is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    If you aren't using it already, download and install Firefox. Then, download and install Firebug. With that, poke around the DOM after the page is rendered and you'll see that the elements with that class in the source have had that class swapped out for something else.

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    2
    Vote Rating
    0
    brian.moeskau is an unknown quantity at this point

      0  

    Default


    In general, this is done to ensure that the UI drawing is imperceptible to the user. Rather than starting everything off visible, then positioing everything dynamically while visible, all of the positioing is done offscreen. This (combined with the layout manager's internal processing flag) ensures that there's no perceptible flickering as things get moved around on render.

  6. #6
    Ext User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    0
    benkooijman is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Ah, I get it.

    Thanks for the comprehensive replies!

    Ben.

Similar Threads

  1. Basic newbie question
    By AllexS in forum Ext 1.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22 Mar 2007, 11:18 AM
  2. Newbie question: How to get the Id from an element ?
    By GBS in forum Ext 1.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22 Jan 2007, 1:57 AM
  3. Newbie - BorderLayout question
    By ernestlambert in forum Community Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5 Dec 2006, 8:59 AM
  4. DomHelper creating Panels to Layout but inactive
    By young_matthewd in forum Ext 1.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18 Nov 2006, 1:05 PM
  5. BasicDialog incompatible with ylayout-inactive-content?
    By SteveEisner in forum Ext 1.x: Bugs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6 Nov 2006, 3:10 PM

Thread Participants: 2