1. #1
    Ext User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2
    Vote Rating
    0
    baggins2000 is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Curious about examples

    Curious about examples


    Has anyone used the grid to interface with a database either through XML or some other way?
    Would it be possible to see the completed working example which is on your web site?
    http://www.jackslocum.com/yui/2006/0...tensions-grid/
    We had a guy here working on this for a couple of days and he said he couldn't get it to work? I have worked with grids before interfaced to a database using XML, but nothing as feature rich as this.
    I was wanting to set up the example on my web site and test it and see if I could work backward from a full working example.

  2. #2
    Ext User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2
    Vote Rating
    0
    baggins2000 is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Whoops

    Whoops


    Hadn't read through and seen the
    A Grid Component for Yahoo! UI - Part 1,2,3 Yet. I'll start there.

  3. #3
    Sencha User genius551v's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    287
    Vote Rating
    0
    genius551v is on a distinguished road

      0  

  4. #4
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team Animal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Notts/Redwood City
    Posts
    30,496
    Vote Rating
    44
    Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about

      0  

    Default


    Sorry, it's internal-only, but I have a beautiful system which links up with Hibernate on the backend via DWR calls to create grids VERY easily.

    A filter page needs only to contain an input called "type" which contains the driving class name for an HQL query.

    Filter input fields are named the same as the Hibernate property names of an Entity, or from<property name> to<property name>

    A DWR call is made to a helper class sending the uurlencoded String of the filter forms. The helper class matches the input names up against known properties on the entity and creates an HQL query which is used to create a java.util.List of Object[] where each object in the array is a column.

    This helper class is stashed in the HttpSession, and its ID returned.

    Also returned is an array of GridColumn objects which is used to initialize my ColumnMode.

    My DataModel is a custom one which uses DWR to communicate with the helper class in the session using the ID returned to which it delegates requests for data.

    My result is a very neat ListManager class which can accepts filter pages, and preview pages, and allows detail of the selected line. Filters and the resulting Grid are tabs in the "north" Region, details are viewed in the "center" Region.

    Code:
    	var foo = createDialog("CountrySubEntity View");
    	foo.show();
    	dl = new ListManager(
    	{
    		container:foo,
    		filterUrl:["/aspicio/form/CountrySubEntityFilter1.jsp",
    				"/aspicio/form/CountrySubEntityFilter2.jsp"],
    		detailUrl:"/aspicio/form/CountrySubEntity.jsp"
    	});
    You can pop up as many as you want in containers all over your page.

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team Animal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Notts/Redwood City
    Posts
    30,496
    Vote Rating
    44
    Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about

      0  

    Default


    For a peek at the power of yui-ext. In that latest dialog, I've filtered by "New" in the name field.


  7. #7
    Sencha User genius551v's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    287
    Vote Rating
    0
    genius551v is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default can you....

    can you....


    Hi,

    its looks great...!

    can you shared the code ?

    Tnks

  8. #8
    Ext User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    225
    Vote Rating
    0
    seldon is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Hi, could you please tell me how you got the borderlayout to work within a dialog? I have some trouble making it work. Thanks in advance!

    Seldon

  9. #9
    Sencha User jack.slocum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    6,955
    Vote Rating
    16
    jack.slocum will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    Seldon, use a LayoutDialog

Similar Threads

  1. some examples.....
    By genius551v in forum Community Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25 Mar 2008, 10:40 AM
  2. Next Revision - Curious
    By patspats in forum Ext 2.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28 Mar 2007, 10:39 AM
  3. SplitBar examples and help
    By adamh in forum Ext 1.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22 Jan 2007, 12:19 AM
  4. Examples (ala YUI)
    By allaboutyui in forum Ext 1.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14 Nov 2006, 3:01 PM

Thread Participants: 5