1. #1
    Ext User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    51
    Vote Rating
    0
    excelsis is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default [2.??] Vertical separator in Menu item

    [2.??] Vertical separator in Menu item


    There is "dead" space between a menu item icon and the associated text in an Menu item where mouseover/click handlers of the menu are not active.

    I think this is specific to IE7/8; seems OK in FF3

    The dead space corresponds to the 8px right margin assigned by class x-menu-item-icon. In this margin the background menu.gif image that includes the vertical separator "bleeds through" and is unresponsive to events.

  2. #2
    Sencha - Community Support Team Condor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    24,246
    Vote Rating
    94
    Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of

      0  

    Default


    Yes, that also bothered me for quite some time...

    I played a bit with the CSS rules and came up with:
    Code:
    <style type="text/css">
    .x-menu a.x-menu-item {position: relative; padding-left: 27px;}
    .x-menu-item-icon {position: absolute; left: 3px; top: 3px; margin: 0;}
    </style>
    (also looks better with multi-line menu item text)

  3. #3
    Ext User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    51
    Vote Rating
    0
    excelsis is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Not working in IE8

    Not working in IE8


    Thanks Condor ... but it doesn't work in IE8 (see attachment).
    and if I fiddle with it to work in IE as follows
    .x-menu a.x-menu-item {position: relative; padding-left: 27px;}
    .x-menu-item-icon {position: absolute; left: -24px; top: 3px; margin: 0;}

    then of course FF doesn't work (icons get placed to left of actual menu).
    Seems to be the absolute vs relative positioning.
    Haven't had a chance to try IE7 - maybe just an IE8 beta bug.

    Sorry to bother you but how do I make a CSS rule conditional for different browsers?
    Should I repost to another forum? TIA
    Attached Images

  4. #4
    Sencha - Community Support Team Condor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    24,246
    Vote Rating
    94
    Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of

      0  

    Default


    IE8 isn't supported by Ext 2.2.

    What changes did you make to make Ext 2.2 work on IE8 at all?

  5. #5
    Ext User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    51
    Vote Rating
    0
    excelsis is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Nothing. Works fine for me. Version is 8.0.6001.18241 beta2.
    My app has many ExtJS features - grids, trees, accordions, editors etc.
    What problems have you encountered or would you expect me to experience?
    Hopefully I'm not missing something!

  6. #6
    Sencha - Community Support Team Condor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    24,246
    Vote Rating
    94
    Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of

      0  

    Default


    There are several layout issues in IE8 strict mode (see main IE8 issues thread).

Thread Participants: 1