Ext JS Premium Member
    Vote Rating
    optimalcapacity is on a distinguished road

Default Convert XML Data to JSON Data

Convert XML Data to JSON Data

Hey everyone...

I am new to ExtJS and am working on a demo which utilizes ExtJS on the front-end while the backend system is based on both J2EE and Java Servlet technology. The backend system has natively handled XML output for years. While ExtJS has many of the widgets needed for this demo, I still need a few extra UI components currently available from other libraries. These other libraries currently support JSON data formats. Does ExtJS natively support the conversion of XML data to JSON data? For the demo, I will have to juggle both XMl and JSON datasets. If so, could you please direct me to the necessary code or provide me with an example? If not, any ideas and all ideas are appreciated!

I realize the best approach for this demo would be to add the server-side output of JSON. However, one of the objectives of this demo is to have legacy support for pre-existing solutions built on XML datasets. Once I can prove the effectiveness of ExtJS from the client-side, I can work on selling optimizations on the server-side to the business.

Thanks in advance!

Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team Animal's Avatar
    Vote Rating
    Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about

You will usually be reading Records into your client which are cached in Stores which provide the Model for the DataView and the GridPanel.

You will use an XmlReader to convert the received XML data.

There is full documentation in the API docs, there are examples in your examples directory, and there is lots of information in the grid FAQ.

If you have any specific questions, someone will try to answer.

Vote Rating