Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    drabslab is on a distinguished road

Default user role management

user role management

Hai,

i am new to Ext but find it an exciting tool. I have a question though.

Often, a toolbar, panel or window needs to be adapted depending on the user account and the role that a specific user has.

as an example: a "public" user can not change a text while an "editor" user can and therefore needs a few extra buttons on the toolbar.

How can this easiest be done with Ext?

Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team Animal's Avatar
    Vote Rating
    Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about

Same way as with any web page.

The server only sends what the use is allowed to see.

And when a request comes in from the browser, only performs what the user is allowed to perform.

I don't get the question really. ExtJs is just a means of creating fancy HTML, so how can the principle be different?

Sencha User
    Vote Rating

Quote Originally Posted by Animal View Post
    Same way as with any web page.

The server only sends what the use is allowed to see.

And when a request comes in from the browser, only performs what the user is allowed to perform.

I don't get the question really. ExtJs is just a means of creating fancy HTML, so how can the principle be different?
    Let my try to explain better (sorry for being long):

Imagine to have a website with the following audience:
    • the general public: may see everything but can't change anything
    • contributors: may add content but not change/delete content made by other contributors
    • administrators: can add/change/delete whatever
    I am looking for an easy solution to make e.g. a panel with a toolbar with buttons to edit/add/delete... and have a simple way to configure the panel to hide the buttons from people who do not have the right to use them.