Ext JS Premium Member
    Vote Rating
    mikecar is on a distinguished road

Default question on Application architecture

question on Application architecture

Hi. I am new to ExtJs, and I need help with an issue relating to
    overall application design and architecture. I am sorry that this post will be
    rather long, but I need to explain what I am trying to achieve, in order to
    hope that I can get meaningful answers. It may also serve as the staring
    point of an interesting discussion. If all I am saying here is commonplace to
    you experts, please allow for the fact that I only came across ExtJS a couple
    of days ago also, pls note that English is not my mother tongue.

I am designing a pure AJAX largish (30-50 "pages") application,
    which I would like to function in the following way:

I want to have a single html page, which acts as the "container" for the
    application. the layout should be the typical application-style :
    a "west" panel containing a static tree menu, a "north" panel for banner,title
    and toolbars (variable), and a "center" panel which hosts the actual content.

within the center panel I do not need (nor wish to) have multiple "pages" active
    at any one time. The idea is that the user clicks options on the left menu,and
    the center panel changes to show the relevant sub-page. Think of an old-style
    frameset, with the left-side <A>'s having the main frame as target, and you
    have the exact navigation functionality I wish. back-and-forward actions are
    handled by the application, not the browser buttons (for now).

Before discovering ExtJS a couple of days ago, I was planning to achieve this
    using either good-ole framesets, or a single page with a single IFRAME for the
    "center" region. I was also using jQuery for DOM manipulation and AJAX calls,
    and a pure JSON data layer, served by PHP. I run into various issues with jQuery