1. #1
    Ext User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    12
    Vote Rating
    0
    rakshith is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default [CLOSED] owner.createDocument.createRange JS error

    [CLOSED] owner.createDocument.createRange JS error


    I am getting a javascript error on line 245 of the ext-core_debug.js file on IE. This happens when i use a combination of tab and dialog.

    Here is the case,

    <body>
    some initial text here
    <!---div for the TabPanel --->
    <div ...>
    </div>
    some text here
    <!--- div for the BasicDialog--->
    <div ...>
    </div>
    </body>

    IE throws an JS error in ext-core.js saying el.owner.createDocument.createRange Object doesn't support this property or method.

    However, the interesting bit is that if I take off the initial text before the tab layout div, things work fine.

    Can something be done for this? Is there a work around? I haven't been to get around this at all. An upgrade to the latest version did not help either.

    Thanks!
    Rak****h

  2. #2
    Sencha User jack.slocum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    6,955
    Vote Rating
    17
    jack.slocum will become famous soon enough jack.slocum will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    This is an issue in IE where the first element of the body can't be a text node. A simple workaround is to place an empty span (or any tag) as the first child until we find a suitable workaround.
    Jack Slocum
    Ext JS Founder
    Original author of Ext JS 1, 2 & 3.
    Twitter: @jackslocum
    jack@extjs.com

  3. #3
    Ext User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    12
    Vote Rating
    0
    rakshith is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Thanks for the workaround Jack! That should do it until a solution is found.

  4. #4
    Sencha User vmorale4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    189
    Vote Rating
    1
    vmorale4 is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by jack.slocum View Post
    This is an issue in IE where the first element of the body can't be a text node. A simple workaround is to place an empty span (or any tag) as the first child until we find a suitable workaround.
    FYI I found out that this problem also happens with malformed html where text before html tag exist.

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    15
    Vote Rating
    0
    allenerb is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    FYI - I found another situation that can cause this to occur. I was adding a grid to an items collection of a panel and at the same time I had the html property set to a value. By getting rid of the html property, the error went away.

    Code:
    new Ext.Panel({
    	id:'middle-north-panel',
    	region:'north',
    	title:'MIDDLE-NORTH TITLE',
    	//html:'Middle-North Content', // Commenting this line out fixed the problem
    	layout:'fit',
    	height:'200',
    	split:true,
    	items:[aGrid] // having the items set with the html property above caused the createRange error (in IE only)
    })
    Allen

  6. #6
    Ext User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    14
    Vote Rating
    0
    pulporitmo is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I use an HTML comment (<!-- Hello -->) instead of an span tag, only for being more unobtrusive.

  7. #7
    Ext User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1
    Vote Rating
    0
    wtff is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Hi, I came across this problem as well and wanted to report that inserting a comment doesn't work in my environment. (Vista + IE7.0.6001.18000). It needs to be a span element as Jack proposed.

    BTW: I use a DOMHelper config to insert stuff and if I create an html fragment using the html config property like so:
    Code:
    html: <span />text
    then the text node becomes a child node of the span element
    If I write:
    Code:
    html: <span></span>text
    then the text node becomes a sibling.

    Is this a bug in extjs?

  8. #8
    Sencha - Community Support Team mystix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,236
    Vote Rating
    5
    mystix will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    <span> tags must be specified as a pair.

    check the html specs.

  9. #9
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    9
    Vote Rating
    1
    gholyoak is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Dynamically Loading Components Fails

    Dynamically Loading Components Fails


    Hi Guys,

    Im having a similiar problem and have searched the forums for a solution and although the concensus seems to be to add some sort of html tag at the beginning Im not sure how I can do this with my implementation

    Basically I have an Ext.Window into which I want to load another Ext Component from an Ajax source.

    (Example code attached)

    This works a treat in FF but I have to get this working in IE as a proof-of-concept excerise for us to use EXT.

    Any ideas

    Sorry - just noticed this is EXT1.0 and Im using Ext 2.0 still any help wouldn't go amiss.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by gholyoak; 4 Jul 2008 at 5:28 AM. Reason: Wrong Version note !

  10. #10
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    2
    Vote Rating
    0
    brian.moeskau is an unknown quantity at this point

      0  

    Default


    I would suggest starting a new thread, as it is likely a different issue. Also please provide a better description about what your issue is.