You found a bug! We've classified it as a bug in our system. We encourage you to continue the discussion and to find an acceptable workaround while we work on a permanent fix.
  1. #1
    Ext JS Premium Member hanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42
    Vote Rating
    0
    hanne is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default [INFOREQ][3.0.1] Font rendering in FF3.5 on Ubuntu

    [INFOREQ][3.0.1] Font rendering in FF3.5 on Ubuntu


    Ext version tested:
    • Ext 3.0.1
    • SVN5338

    Adapter used:

    • ext

    css used:

    • default ext-all.css
    • default xtheme-blue.css

    Browser versions tested against:

    • FF3.5

    Operating System:

    • Ubuntu Karmic (v10) Alpha 5 & 6

    Description:

    • Can I be lazy, use the hyper-linked www to its fullest and just refer to this thing?

    Test Case:


    Steps to reproduce the problem:
    • build and render this thing, then take a look at it in FF3.5 on Ubuntu Karmic Alpha 5 or 6.

    The result that was expected:



    The result that occurs instead:


    Screenshot or Video:

    Debugging already done:

    • notice how the fonts are larger, even with the msttcorefonts installed
    • it doesn't happen with Opera on the same machine, with or without msttcorefonts
    • it didn't happen with FF3.0
    • it does NOT happen on Mandriva Linux One 2009
    • it does NOT happen on openSUSE 11.2-Milestone7
    • it does NOT happen on Ubuntu 9

    Possible fix:
    Some stuff is cleaned up...
    I generally set the line-height to font-size+2px for nice results (instead of a "normal" line-height).

  2. #2
    Sencha - Community Support Team mystix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,236
    Vote Rating
    5
    mystix will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by hanne View Post
    Can I be lazy, use the hyper-linked www to its fullest and just refer to this thing?
    yes you may, but please refrain from tagging your own posts [OPEN].

  3. #3
    Sencha - Community Support Team Condor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    24,246
    Vote Rating
    94
    Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of Condor has much to be proud of

      0  

    Default


    Could you try if this patch fixes the problems?

  4. #4
    Ext JS Premium Member hanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42
    Vote Rating
    0
    hanne is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I haven't tried the numerous lines of code in this patch, since it can be fixed with just a few lines of CSS.

    Thanks anyway, because I've been wondering about the button alignment too -- then again, the left aligned buttons still look OK-enough to me -for an outdated IE- as long as they're usable and not clipped.

  5. #5
    Sencha - Community Support Team mschwartz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Peoples' Republic of California
    Posts
    2,053
    Vote Rating
    17
    mschwartz will become famous soon enough mschwartz will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    For anyone who cares to test this...

    You can install ubuntu or other linux in a virtual machine under windows using this:
    http://www.virtualbox.org/

    If you do test, I recommend messing with the QT4 preferences and see if any of those settings break things after your patch.

  6. #6
    Ext JS Premium Member hanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42
    Vote Rating
    0
    hanne is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by mschwartz View Post
    For anyone who cares to test this...
    Could anyone care to even just confirm this? Also, what OSes are you even on? I thought Ext was an open source company?

  7. #7
    Ext JS Premium Member hanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42
    Vote Rating
    0
    hanne is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I've debugged it myself. It's only with FF3.5 on the Ubuntu Karmic alphas...

  8. #8
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team evant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    17,006
    Vote Rating
    650
    evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    Does this behaviour still occur?
    Evan Trimboli
    Sencha Developer
    Twitter - @evantrimboli
    Don't be afraid of the source code!

  9. #9
    Ext JS Premium Member hanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42
    Vote Rating
    0
    hanne is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Don't know... I'm running Mandriva now.

  10. #10
    Sencha User ThorstenSuckow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Aachen, Germany
    Posts
    597
    Vote Rating
    2
    ThorstenSuckow is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I can confirm that there are problems rendering FormPanels on *nix machines using FF - the font metrics seem to break the layout.

    Unfortunately, I cannot add any screenshots, since I categorized this problem to this time as "trivial"