Thank you for reporting this bug. We will make it our priority to review this report.
  1. #1
    Ext User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    86
    Vote Rating
    0
    ruralclimber is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default [CLOSED] cannot set the width of MessageBox to be a value bigger than 600

    [CLOSED] cannot set the width of MessageBox to be a value bigger than 600


    Hi,

    the default maxWidth of messagebox is 600. However, no matter in previous version or in 3.0, I cannot change the maxWidth or width to be a value >600.

    for example, if I set the width or/and maxWidth to be 1000, nothing will change. the width of the message box will still be 600.


    although it does work for value <600.


    I did not find anyone asked this yet. is this a known bug?


    thx
    Warren

  2. #2
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team evant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    17,000
    Vote Rating
    650
    evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    I can't replicate it.

    Code:
    Ext.onReady(function(){
        Ext.Msg.show({
            msg: 'foo',
            maxWidth: 1000,
            width: 1000
        });
    });
    Shows it 1000px.
    Evan Trimboli
    Sencha Developer
    Twitter - @evantrimboli
    Don't be afraid of the source code!

  3. #3
    Ext User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    86
    Vote Rating
    0
    ruralclimber is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    thx, Evant!

    so you noticed that the messagebox with width equal to 1000 is truely wider that the message box with width set as 600?

    if you set the width as screen.width. the width of the message box will be changed to the width of your monitor?


    I just wrote a simple page to test this out side of my application, and can still consistentlt encounter this problem.


    this is odd.

    thx
    Warren

  4. #4
    Ext User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    86
    Vote Rating
    0
    ruralclimber is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I can see the visual width of the messagebox increase if the width is changed from 300 to 600, but will not increase anymore if changed from 600 to 1000 or whatever number bigger than 600

  5. #5
    Sencha User Jamie Avins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Redwood City, California
    Posts
    3,661
    Vote Rating
    19
    Jamie Avins is a jewel in the rough Jamie Avins is a jewel in the rough Jamie Avins is a jewel in the rough

      0  

    Default


    Have you set the maxWidth parameter as well?

  6. #6
    Ext User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    86
    Vote Rating
    0
    ruralclimber is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    yes, I did. I set both of them as the same value.

    also I noticed that, if you set width, maxWidth is actually ignored. well, this is a good thing though.

  7. #7
    Sencha User Jamie Avins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Redwood City, California
    Posts
    3,661
    Vote Rating
    19
    Jamie Avins is a jewel in the rough Jamie Avins is a jewel in the rough Jamie Avins is a jewel in the rough

      0  

    Default


    Could you post your configuration you are using so we can try and replicate the issue.

  8. #8
    Ext User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    86
    Vote Rating
    0
    ruralclimber is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    there is nothing special, since I can reproduce this probelm even with a very simple page below:

    Code:
    <%@
    page language="java" contentType="text/html; charset=UTF-8" pageEncoding="UTF-8" %>
    <
    html> <head>
    <
    meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8"> <meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="public">
    <!-- Load ExtJS library -->
    <
    script>
    ... code here to load the extjs 3.0 library ...
    </script>
    <
    script type="text/javascript">
    Ext.onReady(
    function(){
    Ext.Msg.show(
    { msg: 'foo', maxWidth:1000, width: 1000 });
    }
    );
    </
    script>
    <
    title>TEST</title>
    </
    head>
    <
    body>
    </
    body>
    </html>
    if this is not happening to you, the only thing I can think of is that, our infrastructure team imported extjs libraries to the firm, and we load this library from a central repository.

    let me ask them to see whether something is customized or not.


    thx for the timely response.


    Warren

  9. #9
    Sencha User Jamie Avins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Redwood City, California
    Posts
    3,661
    Vote Rating
    19
    Jamie Avins is a jewel in the rough Jamie Avins is a jewel in the rough Jamie Avins is a jewel in the rough

      0  

    Default


    Looks fine here and for Evan as well...

Thread Participants: 2