1. #1
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ayr, Scotland
    Posts
    27
    Vote Rating
    0
    sydnic is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default How do I set paths to images, css and data

    How do I set paths to images, css and data


    I am working on a project that has the following URLs

    Data = http://192.168.0.25:14000/Dev/ProgramName
    CSS = http://192.168.0.25:14000/Styles/index.css
    Images = http://192.168.0.25:14000/Images/imageName

    When setting up forms in the designer, I can't load data stores, I can't get classes to work, nor can I load any images (eg. company logo) into any Ext Component.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Many Thanks
    Syd Nicholson

  2. #2
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,358
    Vote Rating
    127
    aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    Syd,

    To load data into the designer from an external resource, you should do the following. Change the URL Prefix in Edit -> Preferences. This will allow you to use relative URLs within your url configuration when setting up your stores.

    We could make it so that any configuration within the component config named "url" used the Url Prefix. This would allow us to load images for an image component very easily.

    There is currently no way to load in external css into the designer. See this thread for more details.
    http://www.extjs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=95170
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  3. #3
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ayr, Scotland
    Posts
    27
    Vote Rating
    0
    sydnic is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Thanks Aaron,

    However these settings don't work.

    I have set the URL prefix to http://1923.168.0.25:14000/

    In the store I have configured

    root:'rows'
    totalProperty:'totalrows'
    url:'ifUsrJ?opt=1'

    In a browser window the URL http://192.3168.0.25:14000/ifUsrJ?opt=1 returns JSON in the format

    {totalrows:88,success:true,rows:[
    {"ULUSERID":"*PUBLIC",
    "ULDESC":"Public access - all users",
    "ULSECOFR":"0",
    "ULGROUP":""},
    {"ULUSERID":"ADMIN",
    "ULDESC":"Dr. Syd Nicholson",
    "ULSECOFR":"1",
    "ULGROUP":"QSECOFR"}
    .........
    ]}

    This data loads OK into a ExtJS store if it is run in a browser, but in the designer I get the message "Unable to load data using the supplied configuration"

    The message is returned immediately. The designer does not connect to the web-service. There is no transaction recorded by the server.

    Am I missing something? What is wrong?

  4. #4
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ayr, Scotland
    Posts
    27
    Vote Rating
    0
    sydnic is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Sorry - in previous reply there are mistakes in the URLs. These are typing errors.

    The IP address should read 192.168.0.25

  5. #5
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,358
    Vote Rating
    127
    aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    Everything above looks good.

    We are working on making the Store loading process a lot easier. For example if you could see if a request was made, to what url and what the response was. This process of debugging what's wrong with the configuration would be simplified.
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  6. #6
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    44
    Vote Rating
    0
    killfill is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    It would be greate feature, to make the store configure itself via 'metaData' too...

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ayr, Scotland
    Posts
    27
    Vote Rating
    0
    sydnic is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I have recently aquired a valid license for the Designer, and now the Stores are working.

    Perhaps there is a "feature" in the designer that requires a license before the stores will work.

    Regards
    Syd Nicholson

  8. #8
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,358
    Vote Rating
    127
    aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by sydnic View Post
    Perhaps there is a "feature" in the designer that requires a license before the stores will work.
    No, the designer in its trial state is exactly the same as the designer in its fully activated license state.
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  9. #9
    Ext User
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2
    Vote Rating
    0
    pete.krull is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Same problem

    Same problem


    I'm using Ext Designer, xds-1.0.1.0c on a Mac w/ Snow Leopard and running into the same problem. When I attempt to load a store from my local site, I immediately get an error saying "Unable to load data using the supplied configuration" yet the same store works when it's deployed. In addition, when using Designer, I see no attempt to connect to my server in the server logs. I also tried using http://www.extjs.com/forum/topics-remote.php for the store url and immediately get the same error though I can see the returned data when using this url in Firefox. Is there a configuration setting somewhere that I need to change? My apologies if I've posted to the wrong thread.
    Thanks,
    Pete Krull

  10. #10
    Sencha - Desktop Packager Dev Team jarrednicholls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,747
    Vote Rating
    7
    jarrednicholls will become famous soon enough jarrednicholls will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    Hi Pete,

    Would you be able to attach your .xds file for a quick scan? You can email it to me if you don't want to post on the forums: jarred at extjs.com

    We're going to build an auto-store configuration feature, so stores will try to be intelligent and automatically configure themselves based on returned data. That'll definitely be a big help, no doubt.