Ext User
    Vote Rating
    dcoan is on a distinguished road

Default Noob Ext Designer question : building an app with Ext.windows

Noob Ext Designer question : building an app with Ext.windows

I'm very new at this...and am using the trial version (wish I had more time with it).

As part of my testing, I'm trying to create a basic little application.
    For now, I'm just trying to have a full screen panel, with a toolbar. On the toolbar, I want to have some buttons that will open up windows (with grid panels, etc)

What I have done so far:

1. created a viewport
    2. dropped a panel into the viewport
    3. dropped a toolbar into the panel....and added a button to the toolbar
    4. dropped a Window container onto the viewport
    5. dropped a grid panel into the Window...with a datastore (set to autoload)
    6. set the Window's hidden property to true

I've managed to create a handler in the viewport js file, which SHOWS the window when the button (in the panel's toolbar) is clicked.

And, the window displays data from a datastore (php outputting json)

Questions:

If I don't set the window to "hidden" it shows as soon as the viewport is loaded. Even if the window is set to "hidden" the datastore loads its data as soon as the viewport is loaded. I can show and hide the window...but I'm assuming that the data is always in memory, even if I can't see it.
    I'm imagining an app with dozens of windows. I don't want to have all that data in memory all the time...do I?
    How do I create and define windows for my application, within designer...and not have them get created within the browser until I click a button (etc)??

Is my general concept correct?: Create a viewport as the "main" component of the application, to handle events, etc? Help and examples would be greatly appreciated.

Sencha - Desktop Packager Dev Team jarrednicholls's Avatar
    Vote Rating
    jarrednicholls will become famous soon enough jarrednicholls will become famous soon enough