PDA

View Full Version : How to get Components' div id

BlueSkye
25 May 2010, 11:07 AM
Hi,
I'm a beginner in ExtJS Development, so please forgive me if my questions are silly! (forgive me for my bad english, too ;))

I've searched in ExtJS API's Documentation and all over google and this forum, but I haven't found anything.

I wanted to ask if somebody knew if there's some way to get the Id of the auto-generated <div> elements which incapsulates the ExtJS components when you create a new one (for example, a combobox).

The auto-generated ids for the <div>s are something like "ext-gen-xxx".

Thanks!

jtpacheco
25 May 2010, 12:27 PM
While I'm not sure there's a way, I must ask why you are trying to get auto-generated id's of components, when you can easily set them yourself and access them later using Ext.getCmp(<id goes here>)...

In order for you to get the id of a component, you need to be able to get the component. You normally can't get the component unless you use Ext.getCmp(<id>) which need the id, and you can't get the id unless you have the component, and you can't get the component unless you have the id, etc.

Unless, of course, you manually created each of your components as an individual object, in which case you could just use the reference of the object to get the id...but then you wouldn't need the id, would you?

So it all boils down to this: why do you want the id?

steffenk
25 May 2010, 12:51 PM
Each component has an id property. If you want to reference to your component, configure the id property.
Every not configured id property will be autogenerated (ext-gen-xyz)

BlueSkye
26 May 2010, 4:42 AM
While I'm not sure there's a way, I must ask why you are trying to get auto-generated id's of components, when you can easily set them yourself and access them later using Ext.getCmp(<id goes here>)...