PDA

View Full Version : Ajax Requests from Data Writers

mcamer
20 Jul 2010, 2:12 PM
Hey Guys, I am dealing with a special kind of RESful service ... what I've been noticing is you can dig in most of the services' data with '/'s ... So for example in order to reach customer with ID 10 I would hit
http://www.domain.com/Customer/10

Which what pretty much the DataWriters support in ExtJS "to my knowledge"

The service I'm consuming and writing back to deal with it a bit differently, so instead of /10 it will be (10)
which means the upper example will be something like

http://www.domain.com/Customer(10)

Now I can reach that by using the Ajax requests no problems, but when I try to use the DataWriters in order to bind it with the grid and do magical updates, it tends to follow the '/' way, would you be able to pin point me on where can I change this behaviour?

Thank you in advance for the help :)

Regards,
Amer

Aero
20 Jul 2010, 4:25 PM
Hi Amer,

I am new to ExtJs so i just thinking out loud here.I didn't even know this was the case,so i am intrested in a solution as well. But if i understand you correctly you want to take advantages of the CRUD api using the writer. But the url can not be accepted with that (10) form.

Isn't it possible to catch the save,update etc actions in a before event on the store to either (redefine the url for the CRUD..probably not allowed re-direct to your url). If using DirectProxy this seems possible to inlcude a function instead of a given url as a second param which means a AJAX request could been made there. But if you just do a AJAX request in the beforeEvent,isn't possible to get the records (dirty fields for instance) and send them along with this request.

I dont know,mabey you can solve it server-side by having dummy CRUD urls and send some params and include the correct urlpaths from there?

Cheers!

mcamer
20 Jul 2010, 5:18 PM
Thank you for the reply Aero.