PDA

View Full Version : Customizable Portal Help - Drag Widgets from Treepanel to Portal

littlefixit
27 Aug 2010, 7:16 AM
*I mistakenly placed this post/thread in the 2.0 Community Forums, and should have placed it here.*

Hello, all,

I'm struggling to find adequate documentation to allow me to build something that seems rather user intuitive. What I have now is a Viewport whose Center region contains a Group Tab containing a Portal, which behaves beautifully. In the East Region, I have a Popout Panel containing a Slider Panel Which contains Three sub-panels, the last of which contains a Tree Panel. (still with me? ) There are two other panels, in the north and south regions which I don't believe will be relevant for this discussion.

I'll include my code below, but I warn you it's nothing fancy. I just started learning this past week. :)

What I'm looking to do, or to be able to do, is to allow users to drag a child element (not the whole panel, just a name of a panel, for example) from the treepanel onto the Portal, and have it create a new panel in the portal where its dropped . Ideally, I'd like to use this to allow users to 'configure' their own Google-like homepage--though Google uses a separate page to add widget content.

Unfortunately, none of my attempts have met with success, namely because I am insufficiently experienced with dragging and dropping in Ext JS, and also because (as I said before) I have been unable to locate adequate documentation for the portal. I am able to drag elements out of the treepanel, but I cannot figure out how to make the portal accept the drop and convert the element to a new panel (or rather, create a new panel).

Here is an example of my current viewport:

var viewport = new Ext.Viewport({
layout:'border',
items:[{
region: "north",
xtype: 'panel',
contentEl: 'main_header_container',
border: false,
height: 116
},{
region:'east',
id:'east-panel',
title:'East',
split:true,
width: 200,
minSize: 175,
maxSize: 400,