PDA

View Full Version : Help! EXT template for Bottom TabPanel App?

4 Sep 2010, 8:38 PM
Hi All,

I'm an old programmer, getting back on the horse after 10 years.

I want to create something very simple! I want to make an iPhone/iPad app very similar to the New York Times app. Yes, that simple. It's just a bottom tabpanel with 5 separate function/screens.

I've been all over the site, and watched videos, checked templates, read the forums...I can't seem to find a starter file for anything like that.

Sadly, the tabpanel seems to be magic -- From the Senca Touch kitchensink demo I see you have to dock the tabpanel to the bottom for the translucent look? If that's so, I see nothing in Ext that really shows me how to drag a panel, and make 5 pages link to it. (There is no step by step for that. I've been in the PDF and the Video too!)

I KNOW it's not a waste of your time to answer this. How many noobs are trying to write a basic iphone app? A zillion.

And this is so basic. And so hard without documentation.

Thanks!

Animal
4 Sep 2010, 10:48 PM
it would indeed be hard without documentation.

That's why there is documentation.

laurentParis
4 Sep 2010, 11:02 PM
var tabs = new Ext.TabPanel({
renderTo: document.body,
activeTab: 0,
width:600,
height:250,
plain:true,
tabPosition: 'bottom', // << magic property for bottom tabs !
defaults:{autoScroll: true},
items:[{
title: 'Normal Tab',
html: "My content was added during construction."
},{
title: 'Ajax Tab 1',
autoLoad:'ajax1.htm'
},{
title: 'Ajax Tab 2',
autoLoad: {url: 'ajax2.htm', params: 'foo=bar&wtf=1'}
},{
title: 'Disabled Tab',
disabled:true,
html: "Can't see me cause I'm disabled"
}
]
});

ps: code extracted from tabs example and add only : tabPosition: 'bottom'

4 Sep 2010, 11:22 PM
You're the man, Animal.