PDA

View Full Version : Rendering HTML in editable form field

JoshS
15 Oct 2010, 9:29 AM
Read this post: http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthread.php?112686-Rendering-HTML-in-editable-form-field&p=526037#post526037

Hello,

I'm new to ext and I cannot for the life of me work out how to render HTML into a textarea, or other suitable xtype.

Here is what I am trying to do:

1. User inputs text (regex to be exact) into a field on an ext window.
2. Grab text from field.
3. Text is parsed and highlighted appropriately (div tags, css, etc...), returns string.
4. String, something like: <div class="matchedbrace">[</div>Stuff<div class="matchedbrace">]</div> is lobbed back into the textarea, now all rendered and highlighted, etc.

This highlighting updates on keyup. Note that this has to be an editable, dynamic field - not a panel or label as covered in the FAQ.

What exactly would be the best way of doing this? All of the ways I've tried to do this have resulted in having raw HTML in the field, or '[Stuff]' with no highlighting.

Any help would be hugely appreciated!

Edit:

I wonder if its something to do with adding an html node with the domhelper? I did try that, but it didn't seem to work...

JoshS
15 Oct 2010, 5:15 PM
Updated with a bit more info.

I'd really appreciate your help, even if its just pointing me in a possible direction.

Animal
15 Oct 2010, 11:02 PM
I don't really understand the problem.

If you want to edit text, you use an Ext.form.TextArea

JoshS
16 Oct 2010, 2:24 AM
Thanks for your reply - let me explain in a less verbose way.

I have a TextArea in which the user types Regex.

I then have a script which gets that text, highlights it - i.e. wraps div tags around it to colour it. e.g. [A-Za-z] would be returned as:

<div class="matchedbracket">[</div>A-Za-z<div class="matchedbracket">]</div>
...highlighting the brackets. The highlighter processes the string stored in the textbox on KeyUp while the user is typing.