PDA

View Full Version : Cross-Browser?

sportda
7 Nov 2010, 3:59 PM

I'm new to EXT JS and have been working on an app using Firefox/Firebug. Today I loaded it up in IE8 and what works fine in Firefox does not work very well at all in IE8. Two screen shots are attached, one from each browser. Several components including text fields and fieldsets are completely missing in IE8.

The accordion panel IS working and the ajax and drag and drop seems to be working also.

There was a lot of debugging done in firebug to get this all working, how can I debug in IE8 to get it working there?

Is it "normal" to run into these kinds of browser problems, I though EXT JS protected you from this?

moegal
7 Nov 2010, 4:04 PM
you might want to post some code. IE doesn't respond well to missing or extra commas.

plalx
7 Nov 2010, 5:13 PM
Also, note that Ext doesn't support IE compatibility (quirks) mode.

sportda
7 Nov 2010, 8:02 PM
The first time I loaded it in IE8 it flagged about a dozen instances of extra commas which I fixed before it would come up at all so I don't think it's that but I'll take a look. I'll post some code if I can narrow it down.

I"m not using a doctype, I notice IE8 has a new "compatibility" button, not sure what difference that makes.

Thanks guys.

sportda
7 Nov 2010, 9:07 PM
I don't know if anyone can see anything here that explains this but below is some code. For some reason the components on the right side are not displayed although I seem to be able to access those components by their ids as if they are really there some how but just not displayed. In the code below the owner_fields portion of the fieldset is not displayed.

var horse_fields =
{
xtype : 'container',
layout: 'form',
title : 'Horse',
border : true,
marginLeft: 10,
items:
[{
xtype : 'textfield',
id : 'horse_field',
fieldLabel : 'Name',
name : 'name',
readOnly : true,
width : 150,
ddGroup : 'horse',
listeners:
{
render: initializeHorseDropZone
}
},{
id : 'horse_nos',