PDA

View Full Version : Frustrated newbie

grahamsimmons
13 Jan 2011, 10:45 AM
Hi,

I'm a self taught HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery, PHP and Lotus Notes developer, so I'm not stupid.

However, I feel really stupid and very frustrated trying to learn Sencha Touch. For instance, I can see in the examples that the attribute 'xtype' can define the data that is to go into a field. Where is the support for this attribute?

The examples show the basics of the classes, but not how to use them together! It's taken me an age to work out how to create a login form and even longer (without success STILL) how to create a tabpanel with forms and AJAX calls in.

Any search in google shows mostly out od date and invalid examples, so I can see only the Sencha Touch website being of any use. Am I wrong?

I'm sure people will disagree with me, so how about explaining where I can find a list of 'xtype' values?

Thanks for any help provided.

AndreaCammarata
13 Jan 2011, 11:42 AM
Hi,
I suggest you to read the docs (http://dev.sencha.com/deploy/touch/docs/).
That's a good point where to start.
However you can find a list of all available xtype here.

http://dev.sencha.com/deploy/touch/docs/?class=Ext.Component

Gary Pickrell
15 Jan 2011, 4:26 PM
Graham,

I'm also learning Sencha and also finding it frustrating. The problem isn't a matter of intelligence. The system is powerful and flexible but also complicated. Unfortunately the documentation is lacking and it is difficult to understand sencha's paradigm by osmosis. Just because it is difficult doesn't mean it is impossible. My advice is to go over examples and try to understand them. It requires a lot of time and patience but it helps.

My example of something missing is the panels default x property. I can't find it in the documentation. I don't have a clue how to set it after construction. I discovered it by reading an example.