PDA

View Full Version : [RESOLVED] GridPanel, renderer, and JsonStore problem

b.squared
26 Jan 2011, 4:43 AM
Hi, I am new to ExtJS, and I was going through a book when I had trouble with an example.

The problem seems to be with the queryBy method of JsonStore, but I could be wrong, of course. I am using a data store for the GridPanel called "store," but I am comparing a value in "store" (namely, "genre," which is really a genreId) to a value in a JsonStore called "genres," much like a relational database inner join. This may not be the best idea, but I'm merely curious as to why this problem is happening the way it is.

The interesting thing is that the data only gets loaded after I attempt to do something to the GridPanel. I even used alerts (synchronous regular JavaScript ones to see the timing) to make sure the "genres" store was loaded before the GridPanel is rendered. The GridPanel shows up blank, but then when i try to rearrange the columns, the data pops up. It's almost like I need to tell the GridPanel to refresh, but I tried several methods and they did not work.

Here's the Ext code:

Ext.onReady(function() {
var genres = new Ext.data.JsonStore({
fields: [{name:'id', type:'int'}, 'genre_name'],
root: 'rows',
url: 'http://localhost/test.php',
idProperty: 'id',
autoLoad: true,
});

var store = new Ext.data.Store({
autoLoad: true,
data: [[
"Office Space",
"Mike Judge",
"1992-02-19",
"Work Sucks",
"19.95",
],[
"Super Troopers",
"Jay Chandrasekhar",
"2002-02-15",
"Altered State Police",
"14.95",
]
],
reader: new Ext.data.ArrayReader({id:'id'}, [
{name:'id', type:'int'},
'title',
'director',
{name:'released', type:'date', dateFormat: 'Y-m-d'},
'genre',
'tagline',
'price',
'available'
])
});

var grid = new Ext.grid.GridPanel({
renderTo: document.body,
frame: true,
title: 'Movie Database',
height: 200,
width: 600,
store: store,
columns: [
{header: "Title", dataIndex: 'title'},
{header: "Director", dataIndex: 'director'},