PDA

View Full Version : Set a field to null???

Gamer
27 Jan 2011, 9:22 AM
I have code to validate a custom field I'm making

//check to make sure first number is lower
if (this.ownerCt.prefix.getValue() > suffix.newValue){
this.ownerCt.prefix.setMinValue(oldValue);
}
//check to make sure second number is higher
if(this.ownerCt.suffix.getValue() < prefix.newValue){
this.ownerCt.suffix.setMaxValue(oldValue);
}

After validating the inputs, if the user has input an incorrect value, I want to reset the field to a null value.
How would I go about doing that, also would that code go in with the validation or into another area? Please be as specific and detailed as possible I'm still very new to the extjs library. Any help is appreciated.
Thanks!!!

Gamer
27 Jan 2011, 8:06 PM
bump

dduffy
28 Jan 2011, 3:13 AM
Can you not just use Ext.form.Field.setValue()? found @ following URL:

http://dev.sencha.com/deploy/dev/docs/output/Ext.form.Field.html

Gamer
28 Jan 2011, 7:12 AM
When I try to add something like

this.prefix.setValue(null);

which I believe should work, my field doesn't reset to null. I've also tried a couple of other things but I'm pretty sure that using the above the code should set my fields to null when I hit the submit button. Unless I'm need to insert that code in another area. I've included a link to my test page if that can help to solve the problem.
http://www.carterbillboards.com/ext-3.2.0/examples/ngamer/custome_test.html

dduffy
28 Jan 2011, 7:28 AM
this works for me.

var x = Ext.getCmp("suffix");
x.setValue("");

Gamer
28 Jan 2011, 8:18 AM
So my new code looks like this....

x.setValue("");
return;
}

I also have my test page updated to that. It worked for a second, but now it's not working anymore. Also for the second that it was working, it only worked for the "suffix" field and I wasn't able to duplicate it for the "prefix" field. Why would it work one way and not the other? I really appreciate all the help.

dduffy
28 Jan 2011, 8:23 AM