PDA

View Full Version : EditorGrid + ComboBox + getPosition bug

dnorman
1 Feb 2011, 11:53 PM
I'm pretty new to Ext, so it's possible I'm doing something stupid...
But I seem to be experiencing a bug with getPostion for ComboBox when used as an editor for a grid column.

It will sometimes return a meaningful value, and sometimes return negative junk.
From what I can tell, the ComboBox editor object actually attaches to an input box, *not* the div that's visible when not editing the cell.

When you aren't editing the field in question, the actual DOM element it's associated to appears to be hidden ( and vice versa when not editing ) so presumably it's unable to determine the position, and returns negative garbage.

Sometimes it will return the correct value on a change event, for instance, but it seems to be a race condition between the change event firing and the (de)rendering of the editor inputbox. If you ask the ComboBox object for it's position when not editing the cell, it fails every time. Reciprocally, it works every time when the cell is actively being edited.

It would seem to me that getPosition should return the position of the input field OR the display div, depending on which one knows it's position at that moment.

Pseudocode to repro:

var cbox = new Ext.form.ComboBox({
store: mycombostore,
listeners: {
'change': function(combo){
var xy = combo.getPosition();
/*
HERE - trying to use xy to position a menu below
but _sometimes_ xy is a garbage value. something like: [-9993,-9931]
*/
}
},
});

var grid = new Ext.grid.EditorGridPanel({
store: mystore,
columns: [
{header: 'NaughtyBox', width: 100, dataIndex: 'whatever', editor: cbox }
]
});

Admittedly, I know very little about the internals at this point. Am I missing something here?

Condor
2 Feb 2011, 1:32 AM
I don't agree.

The combobox is used as the field of a GridEditor and the grid editor is aligned to the cell when editing and moved offscreen when not in use.