PDA

View Full Version : TreePanel loaded from json

forumuser1080
11 Feb 2011, 3:37 PM
What is the best way to load a TreePanel from json which is returned from the server.

I know this is kind of a loaded question but any ideas/help would be greatly appreciated.

I have found some stuff about loading static data i.e:
http://www.sencha.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-4595.html

Is the best option to format the json on the server so that I can just get the json back and insert it into the TreePanel. Seems a little bad because now my server code is bound to my ui code. If this is the best option how to I get the json from the server and insert it into the tree? (I am a newbie and have been struggling with this).

Or is a better option to return the json in a generic way (such that you could make it work with any ui framework), and then try and parse the json into the tree?

If you have any input or have done this before examples help (again I am an ExtJs newbie).

Also if there is a much better way / 'standard' way to do this I am all ears.

Thanks in advance.

Condor
12 Feb 2011, 12:33 AM
There is no real standard for tree data, so a 'generic' solution doesn't exist.

Is it really that difficult to have your server return the tree data in JSON format?

If you can't modify your server then you will have to write your own TreeLoader descendant (see ext/examples/tree/xml-tree-loader.html).

forumuser1080
12 Feb 2011, 9:31 AM
Its not that difficult and I can return the json formatted so that extjs's treepanel will work ie:

[
{"text" : "Audi", "id" : 100, "leaf" : false, "cls" : "folder", "children" : [
{"text" : "A3", "id" : 1000, "leaf" : false, "cls" : "folder", "children" :
[ {"text" : "Fuel Economy", "id" : "100000", "leaf" : true, "cls" : "file"},
{"text" : "Invoice", "id" : "100001", "leaf" : true, "cls" : "file"},
{"text" : "MSRP", "id" : "100002", "leaf" : true, "cls" : "file"},
{"text" : "Options", "id" : "100003", "leaf" : true, "cls" : "file"},