PDA

View Full Version : MVC on Sencha Touch : First Thoughts and Few Questions.

JustShrey
12 Feb 2011, 1:24 PM
Hi Everyone,

I am trying to build some interesting apps for the Ipad & Android. Honestly, Sencha has been a real lot of fun to play around with, kudos to the devs for building something which looks really well thought out.

FYI , I am completely new to Sencha & ExtJS but have a lot of experience with js & Jquery

So have been looking though the Sencha Touch Codebase along with the Ext JS to try and understand the basic philosophy behind the "Sencha" way doing things expecially the MVC part as that currently is a bit confusing for me.

Here's what I get:

This is an pretty much a clean implementation of a standard "ORM" style* MVC pattern with

Model being represented by : -
1) Ext.Model :-> Object representation of Entities
2) Ext.Store :-> Collection of Specific/Subset of Model Objects
3) Ext.Proxy :-> Glue for data retrieval / update of Server Backend.

Controller being represented by : -
1) Ext.Controller : - for 'controller' stuff :)
2) Ext.Dispatch : - for actual message passing between the controllers & views
3) Ext.Router :- for using the inbuilt history support to move between screens

View being represented by : -
1) Ext.Component and Ext.Container subclasses.

**(not exactly true but if u consider the server side to be a "transparent" crud proxy to the DB it kinda can be called that)

Given the above , here are some things which are not really very clear to me.

1) Is Binding the Lists & Data Views to the Stores a two way bind?

What i mean to say is basically, for example , if I have a Store filled with User Objects directly bound to the List, and let the user select multiple Users, Is there a way of making the Store "filter " itself so that any other derived list automatically filters itself based on the selection?

2) Does the framework support lazy loading of object or do we need to manage that explicitly.