PDA

View Full Version : Destroying objects: Large App : reduce memory consumption

Tumac
18 Feb 2011, 8:05 AM
Is there a good resource or opinion on how and when to destroy rendered objects to save memory.

I have a pretty large application and it takes up a lot of memory. I am no memory expert and assume this is being taken up by all the data/JSON stored in my application.

Is it best proactice to destroy objects when moving off a tab/panel into another panel in efforts to optimize memory use by the browser?

Condor
18 Feb 2011, 8:19 AM
General rule: Destroy components that are hidden and won't be used often.

Note: Stores are not components, so they don't automatically get destroyed when you destroy the component that uses them (see the autoDestroy config option).

Tumac
18 Feb 2011, 8:57 AM
Is it a correct assumption that the many dataloads in my app could be eating up the memory, or are Panels and Grids going to take up more?

I have a bunch of data that is redundantly loaded for lookup combo's and I load a lot of the same data for different grids, just present it in a different way. Looks like to me that the new Model feature in Ext4 will become EXTREMELY useful for me as I can load that data once and then use the local model.

It might be worth waiting and re-coding my data to Models than recoding to destroy objects. Opinion?

Condor
18 Feb 2011, 9:16 AM
What exact feature of Ext 4 are you referring to?

Most of this can be accomplished with Ext 3 too.

Tumac
18 Feb 2011, 9:25 AM
http://www.sencha.com/blog/countdown-to-ext-js-4-data-package/

referring to the ability to register Models.

I am a home-grown programmer so not sure how to do this in Ext3. So my various components all rebuild their own store, even if it is the same data.

Condor
18 Feb 2011, 9:45 AM
That's still the same in Ext 4.

You can use the same store for multiple components, as long as the components don't modify (e.g. filter) the store.