PDA

View Full Version : Override functions in my Model and call the base class?

wizkid
4 Mar 2011, 6:26 PM
I am new to Extjs and I am not quite sure how to go about this syntactically.

First consider this model definition:

Ext.regModel('User',
{
fields: [
{ name: 'LoginUserId', type: 'string' },
{ name: 'FirstName', type: 'string' },
{ name: 'LastName', type: 'string'},
{ name: 'IsNew', type: 'boolean', defaultValue: true },
{ name: 'IsDirty', type: 'boolean', defaultValue: true },
{ name: 'IsDeleted', type: 'boolean', defaultValue: false }],

proxy:
{
type: 'rest',
url: '/Home/Index2/'

}

});

When I call:
Ext.ModelMgr.create(..., "User");

I want my fields "IsNew" and "IsDirty" set to true and then call the Extjs base class and
create my model. You might say why don't you use defaultValue in this case.
Yes, but I posted a bug for it. It does not look like defaultValue
is working right, yet... Ok...

The other function I want to override is user.set('FirstName', "Dolly");

When this is called I want IsDirty to be set to true and then go ahead and call the base
class and set my property.

Next, I want to call user.destroy() and, predictably, set IsDeleted to true in a similar
fashion to .set (call the base afterwards).

For the .create that might require a separate class definition with a override? I guess
I am just not sure where to start with the syntax. I am new at this.

Also, for the .set and .destroy functions I would assume these overrides could go directly on the model?

I might mention I want to have these fields (IsDirty, IsNew, IsDeleted) always on my models.
So, what would be the right way to go about this and how?

icflorescu
5 Mar 2011, 5:04 AM
I'm new with ExtJS myself and I'm afraid I can't help you with a straightforward solution... Conceptually speaking, what you're looking for is a kind of "base model" that each of your model classes will extend. At least that's how I use to do it on the server-side in PHP or .NET anyway.