PDA

View Full Version : Exception / Error Handling for Model?

wizkid
6 Mar 2011, 7:11 PM
I am new to ExtJs and version 4.0 and I am totally clueless how to do proper exception handling in the new Model!

I see the "successProperty" in the documentation for the Ext.data.reader. The default is "success". Ok that's good to know. Then in the docs it says "see Ext.data.Proxy.exception"... I click it and I did not "see" anything related to exceptions. I am on pre-release 3 of version 4.0. This is the documentation I am referring to in the distribution / zip file:

.../ext-4.0-pr3/docs/api/Ext.data.Reader.html

So my first question is how to handle a problem / exception on the server. I am using MVC ASP.NET... When exceptions are thrown server-side I get an error 500. I can override this and return any code I want other than 200. Also, I can make sure that it returns JSON rather than a error.aspx.

I placed "success" as a property in my model and also did this in JS:

Ext.onReady(function () {
Ext.get('mb1').on('click', function (e) {
User.load('jake@test.com',
{
success: function (user) {
console.log(user.get('LoginUserId'));

var i = 1;
},

failure: function (something)
{
var i = 1;
}
})
})
});

On the server side I set success to false... I did not hit my failure function (see above code). I also tried just throwing a .NET exception on the server (creates a 500 and returns a error.aspx type page). Either case I am not hitting the failure method. I placed successProperty in my reader for my proxy definition on my model. I set it to the default just in case (success)... I tried various incantations and derivations and yet I still can't get anything to fire in ExtJS to show the error.

Here is my current model:

Ext.regModel('User',
{
fields: [
{ name: 'LoginUserId', type: 'string' },
{ name: 'FirstName', type: 'string' },
{ name: 'LastName', type: 'string' },
{ name: 'IsNew', type: 'boolean' },
{ name: 'IsDirty', type: 'boolean' },