PDA

View Full Version : Sequencing events with ajax

KennethRusso
17 Mar 2011, 11:29 AM
I'm pretty new to Ext JS and have been struggling with handling things in the proper order with regards to loading data from the server via AJAX. What I am struggling with is this:

-> For some component configurations I would like to use data from the server
-> I am using AJAX to retrieve the initial set of data, and in one server call - I don't want each component's store calling the server separately.
-> I cannot be certain that the AJAX data has been returned prior to configuring said components without introducing a dependency upon an event listener (i.e. load from say a JsonStore).

Currently when the user clicks upon an action item (which ultimately loads a new tab into a tab panel) a factory function creates my tab and all internal components (grids, trees, stores, etc). Then in some cases I must reconfigure items once the user takes certain action because some of the grids are very dynamic although the ultimate layout is the same (lets say they can load data from different tables).

What I think would resolve my problems is to change the sequencing events so that nothing gets created until after the initial load of a store is complete. The sequence would be as follows:

-> User selects action
-> Factory function is called, along with a completion callback, that loads the initial store, along with related data for the various components of the tab.
-> Factory function returns and nothing is happening except maybe I've set the loading mask so the user isn't wondering what's happing.
-> Store load of data is completed, callback is made, which then creates all of the required items with the data each requires.
-> Control is returned to the user.