PDA

View Full Version : JSON question

sferreira
12 Apr 2011, 6:44 AM
Hello all,

I don't know if I am posting this question in the correct forum, so if I am I apologize for that. I am a newbie in ExtJS and I am trying to write a JSON file to be loaded to a tree loader and I have been successful so far. I created some dummy nodes in my tree and it all worked fine.

But now I want my JSON file to "map" a set of folders and the files within them. My idea is to have a tree that shows the folders and their files. These folders and files are on my web server, so I don't mean to get them locally.

So does anyone have any ideas how can a JSON file "shadow" a set of folders and their files and put them in the right format so that that information can be loaded to a tree loader?

Thanks in advance! :)

Hook
12 Apr 2011, 8:36 AM
This is an awfully broad quertion. What is your server-side technology? PHP? Java? Grails?

--
JR

sferreira
12 Apr 2011, 8:46 AM
I'm pending between Java or PHP, I still haven't decided yet. I was hoping that I could understand how to do this or what approach should I use so I can decide which technology to use.

I am sorry, I'm a newbie in this so I didn't realize how broad was my doubt! :)

Screamy
12 Apr 2011, 8:47 AM
Keep in mind that the TreePanel just loads a big, dumb hunk of JSON (in a particular format). How you construct the JSON and what it represents is all up to the serverside of things. So no, there is no easy/automated 'shadowing' of a file system by the TreePanel component.

I implemented a serverside file manager using an Ext TreePanel, and it required a lot of effort: