PDA

View Full Version : [2.0a1][CLOSED] feed viewer 3 from extjs.com



ecukit
3 Oct 2007, 11:14 AM
i am running with FF2.0.0.7 + win xp sp2 from australia.
when i run the same page from extjs.com with IE, it is fine.
when i run feed viewer 3 example from the local box with FF, it is fine.
i guess this is because of the speed of my internet connection??
BTW, extjs is awesome.

------------
sorry, please refer to the attachment for the details.

mystix
3 Oct 2007, 8:24 PM
when i run the same page from extjs.com with IE, it is fine.
when i run feed viewer 3 example from the local box with FF, it is fine.


hey mate, when exactly doesn't it run fine? :-?

ecukit
3 Oct 2007, 9:31 PM
please refer to the attachment:)

mystix
3 Oct 2007, 10:43 PM
got it. be more explicit in future ;)

attached below is the problem as reported by @ecukit:

http://img186.imageshack.us/img186/7861/01cn6.jpg

tip: use ImageShack in future (as mentioned in the guidelines) if the forum's image restrictions are choking your image attachments.

ecukit
4 Oct 2007, 1:51 AM
thanks.

i just purchased the Ext - Single Developer License and hope the others will support this project as well. to be honest, it is easy for jack to get another job with a stable income. please don't let him go...

jack.slocum
4 Oct 2007, 1:54 AM
Maybe some kind of network error occurs over the wire? I can't reproduce the issue. :(

Short of going to Australia, any ideas?

berrett
7 May 2008, 4:03 PM
Hi All,

We are trying to run the feed viewer example on our local machine but it does not work. We have not done anying at all. Just downloaded extjs and tried to run Feed viewer example. Everything works except that when we click on My feeds in the left pane it does not populate the right pane.

Please advice.

mystix
7 May 2008, 10:28 PM
Hi All,

We are trying to run the feed viewer example on our local machine but it does not work. We have not done anying at all. Just downloaded extjs and tried to run Feed viewer example. Everything works except that when we click on My feeds in the left pane it does not populate the right pane.

Please advice.

are you running the examples off a php server?

brian.moeskau
9 May 2008, 11:46 AM
I'm closing this thread. @berrett, in the future, please post questions like this as a new thread in the help forum as your starting point. Also, if you feel you have found a bug, it's better to start a new thread rather than reopening one that's not directly related to your issue.

Hostile Fork
16 Jun 2008, 10:27 AM
I'm closing this thread. @berrett, in the future, please post questions like this as a new thread in the help forum as your starting point. Also, if you feel you have found a bug, it's better to start a new thread rather than reopening one that's not directly related to your issue.

Though you said this thread was closed, it is letting me reply. I will post here since my issue is *probably* the same as the original poster. Moreover, this is the top hit on Google for "feed viewer extjs sample not working".

My problem turned out to be what mystix suggested...the lack of a PHP-enabled web server. That dependency is a little surprising, at least to me. What I would have liked to see on this thread is an explanation of why it is needed. The answer I found out eventually is summarized here:

http://technology.amis.nl/blog/?p=999

"The one BIG limitation with browsers and AJAX is that, in general, the AJAX requests must be to the same server that server the original HTML document." [...] "That means that if you want to use additional content that is not served by your own web server, you have a problem. Invoking a remote WebService to return the weather conditions, getting an RSS-feed with headlines, scraping HTML content from another website: it will not fly." [...] "So what can you do if you really want to use content from other origins - which is quite likely by the way? Basically there seem to be a few options, some of which are limited to specific browsers:" [...] "Use a proxy do make the requests for you: if you cannot make the AJAX requests to remote sites because all requests have to go to the orginal site that served the HTML document, than we should make our AJAX request to that server, to a proxy component that reroutes the request to where we want it to go and returns the results to us in the client!"

Someone unfamiliar with the arcane magic of web browser programming might ask how this could be the case, given the paging.js example. It seems to work just fine retrieving data off of a remote feed:

http://extjs.com/deploy/dev/examples/grid/paging.html

...but what is buried in the details is that this is using a specific trick in which the server must be complicit. The extjs forums have been jury-rigged to expose an interface that makes that specific example work in plain javascript on a machine with no web server configuration:

http://extjs.com/deploy/ext/docs/output/Ext.data.ScriptTagProxy.html

It is clear that the people working on extjs know a lot and are doing very cutting-edge work. But these details are far from obvious to Ajax n00bs like myself. I'm not saying these things *can't* be figured out by someone who's willing to do a little legwork (took me a couple hours), but it would seem to me that a comment or two to this effect in the source would save people hours of time...

For starters, I'd propose that the RSS Feed demo should have some kind of alert that says 'requires PHP-enabled web server'...similar to how the Task Management demo says 'requires Google Gears'. Then I would link to a short explanation of why the dependency is necessary.

Regards,
---
http://hostilefork.com