PDA

View Full Version : Sencha Touch Journey Journal

romyilano
12 Oct 2011, 2:06 PM
Hello, I'm completely new. I'm embarking on a quest to use Sencha Touch to create a mobile web application for an upcoming event at an organization that I volunteer for, the MIT/Stanford Venture Labs non-profit in Palo Alto, California. It's time sensitive so it's for an event next October 18, 2011 (Tuesday).

With each blunder I make ;) I will show workaround, and then show what I did wrong, why I did it.
This is useful because I'm a total newbie. I've done time as a product manager, so this is every software engineer's perfect revenge! Just kidding. As a newcomer to programming who isn't lazy or stupid, I will show how sheer persistence and the help of the horde proves humankind to be capable of making the world a better place and that Sencha Touch is learnable.
At the end of this journey, I'm going to clean things up, revamp my avatar so I look like I wear powder blue dress shirts and belted polo khakis every day, and hand over the documentation, much more civilized, to the Sencha Touch crew.
Right now I have something half in skeletons at:

http://www.romyilano.com/VLAB
jquery mobile

(http://www.romyilano.com/VLAB)
Romy Ilano - ME
I'm a start-up entrepreneur. I've worked in mobile software projects in the past with international teams. That doesn't mean that you should throw tomatoes at me, because I'm damn good at it, but this does mean i suck, absolutely suck at coding. I've come a long way thanks to some great screencasts and reading a lot of "javascript for dummies" books!

I'm starting off at Ground Zero. I'm going to stick with Sencha-touch 1.1 // I'm also going to explore later in my life other frameworks for the mobile web, but so far I like Sencha. I also have the 45 day trial for the charting.

Title: VLAB Augmented Reality Event
VLAB AR

The Intention of this is 2 fold:

Make the best ticketing solution possible
Give users a guide to Augmented Reality for the event