PDA

View Full Version : how to load data from jsp to Ext.data.ArrayStore (extJS3)

djrfnet
6 Feb 2012, 1:42 AM
Hi,

This may be simple, but I am new to extJS. After spending a few hours, I couldn't figure the solution myself.

What I want to do is rather simple: I have a jsp web page to display some database record. I follow the basic array grid sample to make the static data work with my display.jsp. I have coded another jsp, called retrieveData.jsp to retrieve some data from database; but I am stuck at how to pass the output of retrieveData.jsp to display.jsp.

my display.jsp uses Ext.data.ArrayStore and Ext.grid.GridPanel to display data; while retrieveData.jsp would output a set of data in string following json format like [['3m Co','abc','71.72','0.02','0.03','9/1 12:00am'],...].

I came across a sample code of Ext.tree.TreePanel, whose loader can be Ext.tree.TreeLoader, which can directly load data from a URL like my retrieveData.jsp. Is there anything for ArrayStore?

Any help is greatly appeciated?

Farish
6 Feb 2012, 3:22 AM
if you have your data in an array, you can use store.loadData(array_of_records);

djrfnet
6 Feb 2012, 3:34 AM
Hi Farish,

thx for ur reply. but my data is the output from another jsp file.

I just tested:

var myData = 'retrieveData.jsp'; // which use
var store = new Ext.data.ArrayStore({
store.loadData(myData);

It doesn't work.

Farish
6 Feb 2012, 4:07 AM
try printing what you get from your jsp file (the array returned) in the console and see if it is the right format. the records should be enclosed in curly braces "{}" i think.

tvanzoelen
6 Feb 2012, 5:14 AM
(extJS3)

This is a ext 4 forum, so I think these readers will act diffently as you see in the Ext4 docs.

djrfnet
6 Feb 2012, 6:00 PM
I don't think var myData = 'retrieveData.jsp'; is the correct syntax to do that.
myData does not take output value from the jsp file, instead it takes the file name as data, which is showed in the GridPanel.