PDA

View Full Version : ExtJS Grid dynamic updates

Shehul
21 Feb 2012, 9:11 AM
Hello ExtJS team/ExtJS support community,

I am new to ExtJS grid.

Here are my requirements,
I have initial grid to load, lets say 2500 rows
than every minute I go to server and get 100 updated rows and want to update the grid of those 100 rows only.The grid is sorted by datetime before update and after update.

Please note that I don't want to reload the entire grid on every refresh.

So far problem I found is, there is no update method(this is my knowledge,hopefully there exists one and someone can point me to the documentation or usage) for updating the existing rows of grid/data store. Therefore currently I placed solution ,
that first I remove the existing rows in the data store
and than add it back the new once in the data store. As the grid is using this store I see the updated data.
Point is client shouldn't see Loading... things and still gets updated data every minute.

The only issue in this is my grid has selection model. If user had selected any rows they gets cleared out after I remove and add the rows back.

The help I need from extjs community is either show me the method to update the existing grid rows or the way to preserver the selection even after add/remove of rows.

I am using ExtJS 4 OpenGL Version.

Thanks,

Shehul

mitchellsimoens
21 Feb 2012, 11:31 AM
You can set loadMask to false to disable the loading mask. For selection you can get the current selection and then reapply the selection after the rows are back in the grid.

Shehul
21 Feb 2012, 11:49 AM
Thanks for reply, however setting loadMask to false doesn't improve the user experience because than user doesn't even see everything is working or not.

Regarding your suggetion to reapply the selection, thats a basic logic you are mentioning, can you point me the code or sample methods for those applying selection.

Thanks,
Shehul