PDA

View Full Version : Multiple models in one TreePanel

bjnelson62
3 Oct 2012, 5:44 AM
As mentioned before, I've been evaluating Sencha's tools to see if they would work for a web UI we need to build for our server. I've learned a lot over the past month or so (while I'm new to ExtJs and JavaScript, I come from the Java/SWT/JFace world in Eclipse, and MFC before that, so I'm very comfortable with windowing systems).

We have a server that returns various kinds of information, thus necessitating multiple models. It's a RESTful server, and the only URL I need to hard code is the first one, all the rest can be discovered via the responses that come back. In this day and age, that seems pretty common.

But I came across this conversation:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7855923/extjs-tree-multiple-models-nested
(http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7855923/extjs-tree-multiple-models-nested)
Which states that you can only have one model and one store per TreePanel. The comment was that this was sufficient for most use cases, and there are workarounds for the other (but no workarounds were listed).

I would state that unless I'm missing something, this is NOT sufficient for most use cases. In the real world (I've been doing UI's for a long time now) it's rare that everything in the UI can be described by a single model. In SWT/JFace in Eclipse, any class at all can be a node in a tree, as long as it implements a given interface.