View Full Version : ExtJS 4.0.2a CellEditing in Grid and navigation with Tab

10 Oct 2012, 10:31 PM
Hy there,

i just created a simple grid with 2 columns (1 text-col & 1 action-col) and enabled the cell-editing for the text-column. Unfortunately it is not possible to navigate between the inline-editors by pressing the tab-key.

Working example: http://jsfiddle.net/4tp7M/

Ext.onReady(function() {
var grid, store;

store = Ext.create('Ext.data.Store', {
fields: ['name'],
data: { 'items': [
{ 'name': 'Lisa' },
{ 'name': 'Bart' },
{ 'name': 'Maggie' },
{ 'name': 'Homer' },
{ 'name': 'Marge' }
proxy: {
type: 'memory',
reader: {
type: 'json',
root: 'items'

grid = Ext.create('Ext.grid.Panel', {
title: 'grid',
width: 200,
height: 200,

store: store,

columns: [{
header: 'Name',
dataIndex: 'name',
flex: 1,
field: 'textfield'
xtype: 'actioncolumn',
width: 20,
align: 'right',
items: [{
iconCls: 'add-trigger',
handler: function() {
alert('Action column pressed!');

plugins: [
Ext.create('Ext.grid.plugin.CellEditing', {
clicksToEdit: 1

renderTo: Ext.getBody()

What i would like to do here step-by-step:
* Open the first inline-editor by clicking with the mouse on the "Lisa"-cell (working)
* Simultaneously open the next inline-editor (for the "Bart"-cell) and close the active one by pressing the tab-key
* This should also work in the other direction by pressing Shift+Tab

This is working with ExtJS 4.1.1 as you can see in my second working example (same code, only different framework-version): http://jsfiddle.net/4tp7M/1/

Unfortunately i cannot change the framework by now so i need a fix for this in 4.0.2a and would really appreciate if someone could help me out with this or at least point me in the right direction.



11 Oct 2012, 9:31 AM
Can I ask why you are unable to upgrade to 4.1.x at this time?
Please note that 4.0.x series suffers from many issues where corrected in 4.1


11 Oct 2012, 3:05 PM
Because it's a large project and we just can't switch by now. We're going to switch in the near future but until this happens i'd need a workaround for the issue.

I would really appreciate some help.